We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights (Saturday & Sunday). Was impress with the service and the size of the rooms and it was cheap too. Paid $130 a night for the king room. The room is modern, the bed is comfy and the bathroom is flash. Huge selection with the buffet breakfast, can even get a freshly made omelet the way you want. Loved our stay and will be back here again in Feb.
There is parking but with a fee of $12 a night.
The Hotel is located a 5 minute walk to a new precinct, with cafes, restaurants, bar and the movies.
A good tip is to join the priority guess reward program (its free) to get great discounts on accommodation, food and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    542
    202
    59
    30
See reviews for
156
394
69
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. It is conveniently located. There is a marvelous coffee shop across the street. The bike path passed directly behind the hotel. The rooms were excellent. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohmacat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fantastic venue for walking to the city for dinner and for accessing the museum, library, and art gallery. Watching the fireworks from our balcony was a wonderful experience. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our first time at this hotel and was recommended by our son who had stayed there previously. Room very comfortable, believe complex has been refurbished recently. Our view was of the city but will try and get a room facing the lake next time. Had a family dinner in the restaurant one night, great meal and fantastic value IF you are a Priority member.
Breakfast one morning, good selection but thought over priced at $29.00 a head.
Received a good rate for the hotel but then was a special rate over the Xmas period which apparently is a quiet time. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

can't quite believe that they still ask $18 for internet access... I can get it for free in a crap hotel down the road but these muppets still think its fair to rip you off blind for a basic service. Rooms were nice, but for this kind of money they should be. plus they asked for 3,5% on top for AMEX and all other cards were 1.5% what a joke!

Room Tip: the "Lakeside" rooms are more like backside.... no view at all. and there were other compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I wonder about the quality of the free internet at the crap hotel down the road...

Just to give an idea of the service we provide, we recently installed over 200 wireless access points throughout the property, which with the additional hardware, software and networking to support them came to a cost of over $200K.

In order for the new infrastructure to deliver quality high speed Wi-Fi, we had fibre cable brought to the building and our data charges per month are quite a bit more than the average household.

Having said all that, we muppets still provide free access in all our public areas. If our guests need a high quality connection in the privacy of their room, there’s a relatively small fee.

Thanks for taking the time to share your views with other travellers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a great time. Went to Canberra to see the fireworks. We expected that they would be set off from the Lake, but to our surprise they were situated right in front of the Hotel. It was like our own private fireworks display, they were unreal, and no crowds. Service was excellent. Slightly disappointed that restaurant was booked out. Following day spent at Art Gallery and War memorial before drive back to Sydney. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82andrewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed there on new years eve so we didn't have to drive home. Clean & tidy room with very liitle noise which was great for this time of year. Breakies are good value if you get them as part of a package.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing