We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd home for me...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“2nd home for me...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was great trip to Rydges Lakeside - we got a last minute booking for the New Years - the Fireworks were visible right from our room window. Surprised my wife with some Champagne and chocolates at midnight... Over all good fun!!
they need to add a pool somehow to make it complete.

Room Tip: 4th floor hill view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sethabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    528
    200
    56
    29
See reviews for
151
383
67
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Odd hotel this, a mix of new and old fittings, some sympathetic renovations and some unusual design approaches. The rooms are a good size but showing age in parts, chipped paint, a toilet roll holder coming away from the wall and a alarm clock that doesn't turn on are amongst the lowlights. The house staff do a good job though, the room is clean and tastefully furnished, the bed as always at a Rydges is a highlight. We selected our room type for it's overlook of the Canberra City Hill fireworks and were not disappointed, we had terrific viewing from our balcony. We typically stay here for Floriade, and will now add NYE to our Lakeside itinerary..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

As a hiatus from our road trip and camping; I booked in for New Years Eve (2 nights). The room overlooked the lake (firework display was on the other side - no big deal) but we were given a room right next to the lift! The noise was constant and loud... so once again ear plugs were necessary to get some much needed rest! The glass facing the lake is not double glazed which allows traffic/helicopter and other outside noise to interfere with a peaceful sleep? Not really good value purchasing the "deal" so beware. The hotel is centrally located and has parking for a fee.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for one night in early December (Saturday night) - very pleasant stay and will be back again for the right price. I am a priority guest member and have found the cheapest price to be booking their early bird specials online. Hotel is conveniently located - we wanted to visit the National Museum.

Room was generally quiet, good-sized, clean and comfortable thanks to the recent refurbishment. We were on the 4th floor, facing the city and had a corner room (probably larger?). Our standard room had a small balcony but it is still great to be able to walk out.

Highlights:
- Free parking on weekends at Wilson carpark across the road from the hotel - no need to pay for parking with hotel!
- Friendly and efficient staff at check-in and at the bar
- No issues getting service (I asked for fresh milk)
- Great showerhead!

Lowlights:
- None that could be controlled by staff - neighbouring room slammed their door at around 1-2am, which woke us.

We did not use their restaurant/breakfast. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeleaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Rydges Lakeside has a nice feeling to it without being one of thoses hotels that are pretentious. I like how there is no one to grab your bags when you arrive as it would make it like an American hotel where someone in a green coat is looking for a tip for doing something you can do yourself. The security is good with having to use your card to make the lifts work. Close to city centre, just a pleasant walk over to the shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a twin room on level 10 with a lakeside view. I could not be happier with the refurbished room and the balcony. Facilities were very good and the beds as they claim are very luxurious. Breakfast needs some attention, especially the brewed coffee. Staff very helpful and professional. City a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTraveller795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
730 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had stayed here many years ago and it was really tired and old, so we wondered what it would be like. They claim this is a $6m refurbishment and it has been well spent. The room was light and airy with good fittings and a totally renovated bathroom. The bed was very comfy and I love Rydges toiletries. There is undercover car parking for $12.

Note that the outside of the hotel is being painted at the moment.

Only complaint was that we wanted a high floor but were told level 4 was the highest floor for our category of room - there were 14 floors; were there really only suites above the 4th floor. As Priority card holders, we thought we might have got a higher floor. The hotel was really quiet...

We will stay here again if we can get a good value room. The area is also pleasant with a couple of cafes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing