We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Canberra” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Canberra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. Everything you would expect from a high class hotel. Conveniently located right beside Lake Burley Griffin. We enjoyed lovely morning walks by the lake before getting around to the business of the day, and even took the time to hire a little paddle boat when we had a gap in our itinerary. Right behind it there is an excellent little shop that sells everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The bar at this hotel has a wall dedicated to photographs of former Prime Ministers which is interesting for history buffs. Take a tip and join the free Priority guest programme. We dined in the bar downstairs one night and shared some wine and a magnificent seafood platter. Got a 20% discount because of the Priority programme. Would definitely stay there and eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    528
    199
    56
    29
See reviews for
151
383
67
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for the night on our way to Sydney... We were really impressed by the layout of the room. It has a nice place for work, as well as a place for reading.... Nice...

The view is nice, our room is facing the city hill, so you can just imagine the nice landscape... I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly. It is fitted with basic toilet amenities, spacious toilet too.

There is no swimming pool on site though, however, they have coin-operated washing machine, if you need to do your laundry.

The hotel is going through some form of upgrading but it is not noisy, neither does it inconvenient me, so I am fine.

Will definitely choose this hotel again when I visit Canberra in future!

Room Tip: If you do not want the morning sun, do ask for the room facing away from the city hill..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgoh359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The most comfortable beds you will find, room service was very good, well appointed room with mice shower.great location in central city. Had twin room, reasonably spacious with balcony. Happy to stay here again

Room Tip: No pool, had no kids with us so can not rate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrinenz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had pre-booked a twin room. Initially given a very small double on 2nd floor and then when complained given "free" upgrade to 14th floor but still only one proper bed and my friend had to sleep on a foldout. I asked on check out if they have twin rooms and they do - go figure!! The room was fine with everything you'd expect and did have great views of the lake. Sound proofing not that great and we couldn't leave the window open as people next door were smoking on their balcony. $18 per day for wi fi in the room (when will Australian hotels get with the rest of the world) but free in the lobby. Very handy for driving to Canberra sights but parking costs $15 per day (12 on weekends). I'll probably be looking elsewhere for a Canberra hotel next time

Room Tip: Make sure you check how many beds are in the room. Higher floors have best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Accommodation experience excellent, luncheon buffet good value if you are hungry but not so for the light eater.
Conference facilities good
Catering - am tea good. Lunch good. dinners - little variation in menu, vegetarian options poor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

While the food at dinner was good the service was poor
Had to ask three times for my wine , also had to ask for a steak knife
Room was good balcony room
Bed was great
No pool or spa
Would stay again
Would like to see an improvement in the service

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night when in Canberra for business. It was the first time I had stayed there. While it looks a little tired from the outside I was very impressed with the room. It was quite modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fantastic - I particularly loved the smoothies and fresh juices. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing