We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well-appointed”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, well-appointed”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've just spent 2 days in Canberra and returned to our favourite hotel. It is located in the ideal area. 200 metres to the city centre and its great selection of restaurants, 100 metres over the nearby walkway to the bicycle hire place and Lake Burley Griffin.
The hotel was evidently refurbished a year ago and we were delighted to find that we had a view of the lake, Parliament House and Black Mountain.
I would advise though that if twin beds are required be aware that these room are all located next to the elevators so if you don't mind the constant sound of lifts going up and down then you'll be fine. But in the later hours of the night and early hours of the morning this wasn't a huge worry.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and polite and the rooms well-appointed and very clean.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you mention that you don't want to be next to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baroness53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    558
    214
    61
    30
See reviews for
160
411
69
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling home from Nowra and decided last minute to stay at the Rydges hotel. What a great choice. Check in was quick and efficient and also explaining that, as we had just walked in (10.30am) there may be no rooms available to check into as they were still cleaning but there was one free, it might have had something to do with the room number (1313) good thing we are not superstitious. The room was lovely and well appointed, we had a lovely view from our room. After doing our sightseeing, we headed back then booked into the restaurant for tea. What a fantastic choice. The meal was amazing, one of the best we have had, service was brilliant and wine selection great. Breakfast was also a wonderful meal with plenty of choice.

Checkout was also quick and efficient.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The only downside was the limited parking at the hotel itself but there was parking directly across the road, free after 5.30pm.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moulyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for a Conference back in November 2012. I was very impressed with the Hotel. As a long-time Rydges member, I have stayed in many Rydges Hotels around Australia and this is by far equal best with the Rydges on Swanston in Melbourne. The function facilities were outstanding, along with the service of the Staff. The bar and restaurant are also top notch. Great, central location and the rooms are very nice. Although a bit on the pricey side, still very highly recommended. As always with all Rydges hotels, the beds are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for conference . Loved the bar area with low lighting and cosy fire. The rooms though small had great view from a little balcony. Bathrooms tiny and the water pressure is very poor but at least it stays hot! Breakfast was lovely and the restaurant basic in its menu but the food was good. Staff were efficient and helpful. The bed was great but the bottom sheet wasn't fitted and screwed up all the time. Great location easy walk to many things. Conference facilities were great and the food good but the coffee was Luke warm and yuk!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wildfire57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

There are 3 things i need when travelling, a comfortable bed, a hot shower and a satisfying meal. We stayed just one night on our way to the ski fields. Very nicely located and very busy with conference folk around. The bed was great, the roll away was comfortable. The food was terrific in the restaurant, the staff were very efficient , friendly and helpful. The bar staff are exceptional. A rydges card makes the stay better with the discount you receive.
You were considerably let down by the shower, which had no pressure, to the point where it took me an extraordinary amount of time to just get the shampoo out of my hair. Really poor. Apart from that we would use Rydges again. You do need to sort out the online booking issue for ipads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottimox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well positioned for touring around the lake and short walk into the central shopping district. We walked everywhere, even as far as the glassworks and Marnika. We joined the Rydges loyalty program when we booked online and got a discount. I requested a room with a view of the Lake and it not be noisy. We were given a good room high enough up (away from noise) and with a bit of a stretch we could see where the lake was. I am not sure that there are any lake view rooms as the Hotel is the other side of a main highway away from the lake. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was very nice and staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Just next to the Hotel there are some interesting little eating places if you don't want to eat at the Hotel. There is also a small Supermarket on this same street, it is inside an interesting cafe come nightclub, so is easily missed.

Room Tip: Probably stay as high as possible so the room will be quiet. It is near a main road, but we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for the long weekend in June, Found the lakeside to be a nice place to stay, Rooms had good a/c, and bed was comfy. breakfast was excellent, wow it was yummy. location is very nice close to the city, and sight seeing. Parking at this hotel is $12 per day which has some parking underground, but is a tight fit. Only thing that let this hotel down is the terrible room service. We ordered food, siad would be 30min max, after 30min no food, 45min no food, we called every 20min, on the 1hr mark, we recieved our food only to find it cold and not very tasty.
Over all if you can get a room here for under $150 is great..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,771 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing