We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Canberra”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base in Canberra”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location as a base in Canberra. The rooms are generous and well appointed. The in house restaurant is great. Overall a good stay for a reasonable price. Recommend to travellers visiting the capital.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Very pleased that we met your needs, Lukas. Thanks for the review and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    566
    217
    63
    30
See reviews for
164
413
72
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Rydges Lakeside Canberra for five nights & found this accommodation
wonderful. My first impression was of the lovely friendly staff at the Reception Desk who were so helpful with any questions. We requested a room away from the lifts because of adverse comments on "Trip Advisor" about noise & our room was 420 which was very quiet. I would advise anyone staying anytime other than summer to ask for a room facing the street.These rooms get the beautiful morning sun which warms the rooms. The rooms were beautifully cleaned and maintained that way every day by the meticulous cleaners. The bed was very comfortable but I was a bit disappointed with the bathroom. The vanity & toilet were so close together preventing you from getting close enough to the mirror to apply makeup.I would take my own portable makeup mirror next time. ( just a tip for all the females ) The room was very stylish,well appointed & had a large flat screen TV. The hotel is just a short walk to the City & we made the most of the 100 " hop on hop off " bus which took us to all the tourist attractions.
Don't bother to go out to eat as the Hotel's Restaurant,LOCANDA has delicious food. We ate there every night & the Staff are all very friendly & the Chefs are 1st class We also can't speak highly enough of the continental breakfast which has everything you can imagine & so fresh.
We had an extremely enjoyable stay at Rydges Lakeside & would not hesitate to stay there again & recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you can & the rooms facing the street get the beautiful morning sun wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I guess it’s because we call the hotel ‘Lakeside’ that most people request rooms on the ‘lake side’ of the hotel. Personally, I prefer the ‘city side’ of the hotel. Not only does it get the morning sun but it has a great view of Canberra’s under-rated cityscape with Mt. Ainslie in the background. And you can still see the lake, if that’s what you’re into.

Thanks for the review Suzanne and your helpful tips for other travellers. Glad you liked Locanda, the chefs have been working very hard lately re-working the menu for winter.

Cheers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently attended an Exhibition and stayed at Rydges. It has recently been refurbished, and the rooms are quite big and very comfortable. The breakfast is great, and the staff are friendly. We invited some friends to come for a drink before heading out to dinner, and the bar, the variety of the drinks and the costs were excellent. The location is also outstanding - minutes from Civic Centre, and a 5 minute drive to the Gallery.
It costs nothing to join the Rewards programme, and you always get a room discount, free arrival drink and discounts on all purchases in the hotel. Member of Seniors on Line also get free breakfast!
We have stayed in Rydges both here and NZ and find them always consistent in their quality,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
It was great to read that you had such a great time here at Lakeside, Kathryn. I am especially pleased that you found us friendly and I have made sure I shared your comments with the team.

Also pleased that you thought breakfast was great. We’ve been working very hard to deliver a top-quality breakfast with a broad range of healthy, fresh and delicious options.

Look forward to welcoming you back, and thanks for your support, Keep an eye out for our future packages with the National Gallery.
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A well appointed room of fresh design and sleek bathroom let down by the fact that only free to air tv available. No access to any movies . The usual Internet gouge somewhat compensated for by free parking if you book through what if.

Room Tip: Height gives better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_S255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
In addition to the digital free-to-air channels available in Canberra, we provide pay-TV channels from Fox: the three sport channels plus Fox8, Sky News, W and Discovery Channel.

James, I`m glad you liked your room, I gather you would have appreciated and in-house pay movie system. The movie system wasn't getting much use, so it went when we recently spent $200K+ upgrading our internet service. We provide free WiFi internet in the public areas of the hotel, or private unlimited use from your room for $18 per day.

Cheers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent the night here this week while on a business trip to Canberra. The hotel had lots of under cover secure parking (at a charge) The room looked recently renovated and had a fresh, modern feel. The room had the usual desk, chairs, mini bar area, great storage space for luggage & if you need to hand any garments.

I had room service for dinner and I ordered a pizza, it was good. The restaurant down stairs looked really good also. The staff all where very friendly. The only thing I found a bit off putting was the price of breakfast.

The bed was so comfortable and I very much enjoyed my good nights sleep. All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent a Friday night there and took up their package of : Secure parking, Queen bed room, 2 course dinner for two, bottle of wine with dinner, buffet breakfast. We are locals but the cost of a return cab to the city to dine at the restaurant was more than half the cost of the package deal. Real value!! Room was clean and modern, good bathroom, no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at Rydges Lakeside for two nights and found it a good place to stay. I thought the price was reasonable, room was clean and facilities were modern. Best part is the hotel's location to central Canberra. It is a short walking distance to the main streets. I found staff to be friendly and would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#7 of 57 in Canberra
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,790 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing