We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but some improvement needed”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. The room was well set out with a desk, large tv, arm chair, comfortable bed and a lovely big balcony that had a great view of Parliament House. The air conditioning worked well for the hot days we experienced and it was centrally located both to ANU and the shops.

However, given we were paying almost $200 a night the cleanliness of the bathroom in particular left a lot to be desired throughout our stay. The floor hadn't been swept prior to our arrival and nor was it on any of the days that we were there. The basin did not drain well and there was a lack of ventilation as well which was a nuisance. Additionally, paying $29 a night for wifi was also steep and i had to call the main service centre twice to fix the connection remotely.

Room service was very good and i ordered the salmon which was delicious. Check out was a breeze and Robert on reception was very helpful in printing my boarding pass for my flight. The other boy on reception that we encountered during check in could definitely use a few pointers from him.

Overall an ok stay but a few improvements are needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMBristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonGoode, General Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your impressions on this forum .It is one of our most credible measurements of ensuring we stay "on top of our game" in terms of ensurring we concistantly deliver on service , product quality and presentation of our facilities in line with our guests impressions.
I can only assume you have posted your review in respect of a recent stay with us , hence I am at a loss as to how you came to pay $29 for our WIFI facility , when our 24 hour rate is $18.
Whilst I certainly don`t question your comments , upon following up on your advice regarding requiring contact from the support desk of our service provider.Their log confirm the last call was in early December and the matter was resolved on the first call.
I trust you would have noticed the Hotel has recently completed an extensive refurbishment progam which included an full rebuild of our bathrooms.We are keenly aware of the importancen of the attention to detail in respect to the presentation of our facilites .
I want to ensure you we have systems and proceedures in place , along with the one on one training to ensure we are able to maintain these standards.
I am sorry you found us wanting in this area ,and apologise to the dissapointment you experienced .
I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges Lakeside when you next have cause to visit Canberra and demonstate the areas of the Bathroom cleanliness you kindly bought to our attention was an exception to the rule .
Best regards ,
Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

After Sitting Down And Reading The Menu We Realised it Wasn't For Us And Moved On But To Our Shock The Next Morning Checking Out Of Our Room, The Water We Sipped On In The Restaurant Was Waiting On Our Room Bill For $8!!!? What The?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parko27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonGoode, General Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

I apreciate and understand your comments in respect to your impressions upon reading the Menu , that our Locanda Italian Steak wasn`t what you were looking for , however I must say that I couldn`t understand why you felt it was "highly over rated" , based in your impressions of the menu alone.
Since the completion on an extesive refurbishment of the hotel lobby and other public spaces including the restaurant and bar concept, we have been fortunate to enjoy a popular reputation in particular amoungst our local patrons from Canberra who make up 70% of our customer mix as opposed to our guests staying in house. This is usually seen credible indication as to how we are delivering on service , product and presentation of our facilities.We will always proactivey solicit our customer feedback in the understanding that this is one of the more acceptable forms of measuring our performance and striving to concistantly deliver in line with our customers expectations .
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your impressions on this forum.
Best regards,
Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel location is good for the parliamentary zone and city. Stayed 3 nights and good value for money. Good basic hotel. Had a balcony room. Breakfast expensive, but good quality cafe around the corner. Dinner was good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrariedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed on New Years eve and the stay was perfect! Location was fantastic and our room was on the otherside not facing the fireworks. Rydges allowed us to go to the 15th floor at midnight to watch the fireworks which was lovely. We also had dinner downstairs at the restaurant which was fantastic too! Good Experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicknoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It Could have just been unfortunate or our maybe expectations were too high, but having paid almost $200 per night I was looking forward to a little bit of luxury. However.....
Our sheets were dirty and had to be changed, we awoke to find only one sachet of coffee and reception did not answer their phones till 7am to request some more. The basin did not drain so brushing teeth at the same time as washing your hands or face was not possible!! The bed and pillows were terribly uncomfortable. All in all I came away from this stay feeling totally ripped off for the amount it cost us for two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shamwari2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked and stayed two nights at this hotel which has been refurbished. We had a great room and a view of Lake Burley Griffin. The bed was sooooo comfortable. We also had a balcony door so we could get fresh air into the room which we love. We booked the package for the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition at the national gallery so $249 paid for the room, breakfast, parking and entry to the exhibition and to our surprise a beautiful large book on Lautrec. Breakfast was ample and the chef cooked eggs to order which is not always offered. We had dinner at Locanda but it was a bit pricey we thought. 2 entrees 2 pastas and 1 steak and 2 desserts 2 beers and 2 glasses of wine hit the $200 mark. So be prepared to pay.
Would recommend it as a place to stay in ACT.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiwiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went to Rydges for my business trip in December. The one thing I like about the hotel is that it sits at the very center of Canberra.

I had to pay for the full price since it was a last minute booking, so I felt it was quite pricey for room only.

I had a problem with my hotel card. I was unsuccessful entering my room for the first time and they explained that it might be because my iPhone wiped the data off the card.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllAboutFoodBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonGoode, General Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments , you obviously understand how much the service industry relies on forums such as this,being one of the more effective means of soliciting customer feedback.

In monitoring this information we can ensure we stay on top of our commitment to maintain concistant standards of our service delivery , product quality and clean and safe facilities in line with our customers expectations.

We are sorry for the inconvenience cause to you by the malfunction of your "key card". This technology is the most up to date system available in terms of our guest room security.
However we are aware that when the information strip on the card comes in direct contact with a magnetic field such as that from a mobile phone ,the data can be errased. Fortunately this type of incident is the exception.

I was pleased to note you found our location convenient to your needs . I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges Lakeside , when you next have cause to visit Canberra.

Best regards,
Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,649 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $117 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing