We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy, no-frills stay in Canberra”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2012 following the recent refurbishments. The hotel is spacious and fresh-looking and we had no issues with our stay. The room was a little odd: it was comprised of two main rooms - one of which accommodated the bed whilst the other seemed to have no purpose other than as a second room with a futon couch which we asked to be transformed into a sofa. We also had two bathrooms. I was told that the recent refurbishments meant that two rooms had been combined but it gave me an impression of a redundantly large space with little character.

Having said that, the hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the location easy to find and within 10-15 minutes walking distance of any attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlfawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Our new Queen Suites consist of a bedroom with en-suite and a separate lounge room with a second bathroom. The lounge can be converted into a sofa-bed. This room has the space and flexibility to offer a sitting area or a second sleeping option for the kids or a single adult.

Sorry you were confused by the layout, DL, I will check our room descriptions to make sure it is clear – perhaps you caught us toward the end of our refurbishments (completed in May).

Glad you had a good time here at Lakeside, and thanks for your appraisal.

Cheers,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I read a review somewhere that mentioned the airconditioning that didn't cool. It must have been about this room. They sent someone to adjust the thermostat but it kept getting warmer and I had to ask for another room, which was 1017. This one did cool, but the airconditioner will not get cooler than 72F (yes, they don't use Celsius in this hotel). I slept with the thing switched off.

The "17" rooms are almost opposite the lifts but I did not hear them, as someone else did.

There is a tea/coffee making facility in the room and a bar fridge. The water is two bottles for $6.

The queen bed was a little too soft for my liking but others might find it fine.

The TV was fuzzy and the image kept distorting from time to time. Not digital.

The bedside clock was an iPod dock. Either it was dead or needed an iPod plugged into make it work. I only had an iPhone 5 whose connector doesn't fit, so I presume it was a dead unit. Thank heavens for the iPhone alarm clock.

A full breakfast in the Locanda restaurant was $29 ($22 for continental). Just the usual American style of selections. No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

As a nation of early adopters, apparently it won’t be too long now before the number of people walking around with the iPhone 5 in their pockets outstrips those with older models. Thanks to the maker’s decision to change the design, our decision to install iPhone-docking alarm clocks will be redundant…and perhaps seem short-sighted. I can only hope there is a solution on the market shortly. Thankfully, our alarm clocks do not require the phone plugged in for them to work.

When we check A/C in 717 and the alarm clock in 1017, we’ll also check the TV. With analogue TV finished last July, we do use a digital signal here, so perhaps this one needs some tuning.

Thanks very much for the feedback, Trainsem and we are glad to have been of service to you. I agree, temperatures in Fahrenheit are out-dated, but thanks to an app on my iPhone I can report this is 22C.

Cheers,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The worst service I have had in any decent hotel in years. Not one smile or warm greeting from anyone. We booked Floriade packages and were supposed to get some gifts as a result. Nothing done and after two days we eventually got what we were supposed to.

This place needs every staff member (other than Louis) trained on customer service.

Now only one staff member, Louis was excellent. He should go work for a hotel where his skills would be appreciated .

Do not ever stat here !!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JonShack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

In putting together our Floriade Package this year, we wanted something that would not only be interesting and in theme but also represent value for our guests. We included breakfast, a copy of the Bourke’s Backyard Magazine and a little herb pot with seeds and soil to take home and begin a ‘kitchen garden’.

Normally, upon arrival our guests will find the Floriade Package items waiting in their rooms, however as we rely on technology for these things, I guess sometimes this can go wrong.

Jon, it’s a real shame you had such a disappointing time with us, and I’m sorry you were left with the impression you expressed. The team here is dedicated to ensuring our guests have a great time, as can be seen in other travellers’ reviews, so hopefully we have an opportunity to fix this with you in the future.

All the best,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a three night weekend at the hotel. It lives up to its publicity. The rooms have been refurbished and are modern, comfortable and clean. Our Queen Room had a long toughened glass desk / writing table with an excellent desk light and power points for laptops, iPhones etc. The ensuite was a little cramped for two with the usual 4-star hotel lack of anywhere to put toiletries bags but had a large shower with instant hot water. The reservations clerk met all our requests, including a fantastic view of the lake a 10 minute walk away. The restaurant Locanda offers good bistro/restaurant menu items and an excellent wine list. Inexpensive pizzas and snacks were available from room service. Rydges' breakfast throughout Australia used to be a weak point but we enjoyed a good range of offerings including omelettes made to order. Customer service at every point was excellent, including giving us free batteries when a critical piece of equipment failed late on Saturday. As Australian travellers, we did not expect porter service for this classification of hotel but it may have been available if requested. The hotel charges in accordance with its classification; it gives value for money. It also helped that we received generous discounts as members of the Rydges loyalty program.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We rolled out the new ‘Rise Breakfast’ a few months ago and it is proving to be very popular. Our breakfast offering now includes more varied and healthy options with a focus on a greater variety of higher quality items: a range of smoothies and juices made at our juice bar, bakery items baked that morning, eggs cooked to order…all presented in a modern, sophisticated environment. Less mainstream buffet. More distinctive.

Glad you liked so many aspects of your stay with us, RoseFrances. And I am pleased the team at reception have the freedom to offer some things free to help our guests out of a tight spot.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Lakeside,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Rydges Lakeside recently. Very good access to Lake Burley Griffin, but not close to the city centre. We were given a room next to the lift well so could hear the noise of the lift day and night. We got very little sleep for the whole time we were there. We would not stay there again. Beware. This hotel has a surcharge if you want to use your Visa or Mastercard to pay your account.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

As an earlier traveller commented, Canberra can be a difficult place to get oriented. Rydges Lakeside is near the lake and can seem distant from the city centre, however we are really an easy walk to the CBD (or Civic). I guess it’s this confusion that seems to polarise opinion on the hotel’s location. We’ve noticed it helps if we offer our guests a map and a quick explanation on our location, and I’ll mention this to the team again to make sure we are offering this wherever possible. I can only apologise for your disrupted sleep, Zeehan, and hope for an opportunity to make this up to you on a return visit.

Thanks for your feedback,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel to Canberra regulalry stay at lakeside. While it is very central, I am beginning to think it is too expensive for the offering. Ther rooms are clean and tidy but thay are very expensive, partuiculary as my company has recently been paying for two rooms

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Providing value for money is something we are always aware of, and try to offer a product and service which matches the going market rates. Ted, we’ll take your comments on board, and would hate to over-price and lose a regular guest. If you’re travelling on business, I’d be happy to show you some of the options we have available.

Thanks,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was central to Floriade and the local cafes. We went to the restuarant strip and ate at the Italian Resturant which was great.. WE had dinner onsite at the Ridges Resturant and it was excellent service..Will recommend and stay there again.. Staff were extremely friendly, house keeper & welcoming staff..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are lucky to have a team in the restaurant, Locanda, who are passionate about what they do and this comes across in many travellers’ comments about both our service and food.

Thanks for your comments Lena, and glad to know you had an enjoyable time in Canberra.

Cheers,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
776 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $127 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — QT Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing