We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was quite nice. Upon arrival I was upgraded from a standard room to an executive room, so the extra bit of space was quite good.

The only odd thing was breakfast which I ordered in my room - now it all arrived on time, etc, but I had to phone for the tray to be picked up after I finished. Well, unfortunately I did not get a chance to do so before I left, so I had assumed housekeeping would remove it when they came... Well, I returned to the room in the afternoon to find housekeeping hadn't actually been yet! Considering I finished work at 3:30 I thought that was rather strange. So this time I tried to do the right thing and phoned the number and was told someone was on route... except nobody came. Half an hour later I had another appointment so had to leave. Ultimately housekeeping came and left... and the tray stayed. I guess maybe they figured not their department?? Anyway, that night I got the tray removed (finally). Generally I do understand the idea of not leaving trays outside of the door, it looks messy, but if you are going to insist guests ring to return trays... please also collect them, or at least ask house keeping to pick it up / remove it etc if the guest forgets to do so.

But besides this, which was just a little odd, had a pleasant enough stay. The location was very convenient for work, plus looking around the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 288djangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    1,475
    636
    160
    68
See reviews for
911
1,105
284
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is busy and popular with groups. The rooms are fine, although the bathroom layout in my room was a bit odd. One thing that annoyed me was the bar fridge which has a glass front and glows when the lights are off. So trying to have a dark room for sleeping is difficult. Breakfast is fine but nothing special. The location is on busy Northbourne Avenue so is close to everything.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank radicalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear radicalseven,

Thank you for taking the time to give Novotel Canberra your feedback.

We are located in the heart of Canberra so we are definitley very close to everything, which is always advantage to us.

The bathrooms are designed so that this gives more privacy when there are two or more people sharing the room. We do howvere have rooms with a different style bathroom and if you prefer we could always put you in one of those rooms in the future. Please let reception know when you stay with us again.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a brief overnight stay for a business commitment.

Convenient location in same building as Murrays coaches. Spacious room with large deck.

Reasonable tariff which included full breakfast.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCBR, Front Office Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear GeoffAnnabel,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are visiting Canberra for work.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Enjoyed stay except a couple of things. Housekeeping staff kept knocking on the door and entering before we had a chance to answer - including once when we had a late checkout and the DO NOT DISTURB sign on! Against all rules of hotels, we found this unacceptable. Also at breakfast good variety as always but it wasn't busy and took 25 mins to receive my coffee and 40 mins to receive our poached eggs (forgotten)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank judegoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Judegoldy,

I'm sorry to read of your poor experience at our hotel, but thank you for taking the time to relay this information back to me.

At Novotel we strive to provide superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us so. Rest assurred that I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper as well as the Restaurant and Bar Manager, who will take the appriopiate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We do hope that this has not deterred you from returning to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Having to travel a lot for business I always enjoy staying in a novotel branded property.

The rooms are always clean, tidy and well set out.

Bathrooms (as long as the shower isn't over a bath) are wonderful and housekeeping with assistance from engineering really keep them in good nick.

Staff helpful and cheerful, over all a very good experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Well situated with friendly staff. Unfortunately high prices for the basics such as wifi,parking and the movie channels does not really provide value. Breakfast was a good spread but again not really value for money. Room was clean and spacious. Good for the location but better around.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tasty006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear tasty006,

I'm very sorry to read of you poor experiences during your recent stay with us, but I am very grateful for you taking the time to inform me.

We charge for parking as we are located in the heart of the city and our carpark is an underground secure carpark with 24 hour access for our guests.

Wifi access does come at a charge in the room, we do however offer complimentary internet access in the foyer with your own device. Otherwise if you are a member of Accor's loyalty program or Advantage Plus member and are a Silver member or above it is complimentary in all Accor Hotels across Australia.

Again I am sorry that you were not happy with stay and do hope that you come and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing