We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car park birds!”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 3,370 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Room is clean and big enough(the most important), locattion is very convenient. Breakfast is ok. The staff are helpful and nice. But for us the yellow sofa is no use. If they have some kind of rooms are service apartrment for short term is much better.

Room Tip: If they can have more promotion like staying 2 night and then have one night free, free transportati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Bonnie C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Canberra recently, It is our goal to create a great experience for guests that are staying with us, therefore I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Thank you for sharing your time spent at our hotel, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I'd come back here and stay in a heart-beat. It is in possibly the most perfect location of all. It is within walking distance (5 mins) to the city shopping and restaurant district and very close to most other attractions. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and well maintained. So why no 5: well here is my honest feedback:

1. 18 dollars a day to park in a city this big and spacious is dishonest. The car park should be free..
2. WIFI should be free. This is not the 1990's. Everyone now expects there to be free wifi.The cost is exorbitant if you do buy it and my kids are cheesed off that they can't use the internet. ACCORR need to get with the program and offer this as a free service. It is simply not good enough. Do you charge for running water? Do you charge for AC? Do you charge for towels???? For God sake build the Wifi into the price like you do everything else and stop charging like outlaw bikers for a basic service!!!!!!
3. When I stay at the Sofitel in Sydney, the staff, from the cleaners to the manager, will always say "Bonjour" as they pass you in the corridor, or if they meet you in the lift. It makes you feel welcome and part of the big Accorr family. I felt that the front desk staff, with the exception of the female concierge, found my questions annoying. It is a little thing but it makes a difference. Mind you the culture at the Sofitel Wentworth in Sydney has fallen away recently, so maybe it is a new ACCORR approach to be more unfriendly.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Oange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed there two nights, the location was first class, central to everything we needed and plenty of eateries close by. The room was comfortable and no noise from the road which did concern us when we booked in. Unfortunately we included in tariff full, breakfast, we only had it one of the days as the hot food was awful, the bacon was fat with a little meat, sausages tasteless eggs in ceramic bowls not cooked, both my wife and I had the same problem. The continental is fin but most of the fruit is from a can.
But in conclusion if I go to Canberra again I will stay there but avoid the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: First floor you can access via stair, avoid hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Paddles_11,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Canberra and taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

We are very lucky to be located right in the heart of the Canberra City that is in close proximity of mostly everything and is available to you with such ease of access. I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience it all.

I would like to apologize sincerely for the unpleasant experience you and your wife had whilst dining for breakfast in our restaurant. Rest assured that your feedback has been passed on to the Kitchen and Food and Beverage Managers who are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues that you have raised. and prevent future occurrences.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Canberra and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Service was very good. Staff Pleasant, we were offered an upgrade to a king sized room which was appreciated. Hotel very central to Canberra, close to restaurants, cafes, supermarket and pharmacy. Underground parking quite reasonable. Breakfast was very well catered. Lots of variety. Rooms very clean but ours was very warm. It was sunny and quite hard to cool as the air conditioner wasn't very efficient, other than that a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lettyellen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear lettyellen2011,

I am very pleased to read that you had a very pleasant experience during your recent stay with us at the Novotel Canberra.

I will share your comments with our Chief Engineer as it allows us to improve on the concern you have raised regarding the air conditioner, providing future guests with a high quality product Novotel is renowned.

Our location in the heart of Canberra city is definitely an advantage. I hope we will be your choice of hotel again when you next stay in Canberra.


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#25 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $106 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing