We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice upgrade to Executive King room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice upgrade to Executive King room”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at the Novotel Canberra a few times now and find it consistently good. I was upgraded to an Executive King room which faced Northbourne Avenue, but didn't notice any street noise. The room was comfortably appointed with a king bed, day bed/sofa, desk, and flat screen tv.

The bathroom had a walk-in shower, with what appeared to be a near-new rain shower. My only criticism of the room is that it would be useful to have the tv on a pull-out and/or rotating platform, as you could only really watch it comfortably from the bed (the bed is very comfortable by the way).

Breakfast on level 1 is very good, with a broad range of breakfast choices ranges from toast, cereals and pastries through to the usual array of hot items such as scrambled or poached eggs, bacon, sausages and mushrooms.

Parking in the hotel car park is reasonable at $18 per day and usually necessary as the street parking is limited in the area. The hotel is well located near restaurants, convenience stores, a pharmacy, and is a 5-7 min walk from Canberra's main shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parischris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,484
    643
    165
    69
See reviews for
916
1,115
285
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great quality as to be expected for Novotel hotels. As per most places in Canberra expensive for business days. Weekends are better value. The location is perfect for walking to the
Lake and other venues. Lots of excellent places to eat within a couple of minutes walk.
As happens sometimes others that share rooms around us were very noisy well into the night. Also on the Sat night there was music coming from within the hotel. As per these hotels breakfast is expensive. We found out later that we could have had cheaper breakfast as we didn't want much but they only told us about the buffet.
Don't expect to get a reasonable discount even if you have a booking for a number of days and arrive very late at night looking for a room the day prior. Also if you want free wifi go to any 3 star hotel in the area. Never understood why the cheapest hotels have free wifi in the rooms, but more expensive the hotel you have to pay the ridiculous price of $25 for the day.

Room Tip: If on holiday and flexible for dates try to stay over the weekend to average the cost down. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_icebergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and grand daughter during her school holidays last year.
The location of this hotel is very convenient as it is very closed to the City Bus Terminus. We could take our grand daughter to all the city attractions near and far in the Bus. The hotel is in the heart of the city, so close to shops and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in took less than 5 minutes. The room very comfortable, specious having 2 king size beds with tea/coffee facilities.
There is a heated swimming pool and spa room. There was a room for children activities.
As I am an Accor member, the breakfast was included for all of us and it was extremely good. Breakfast had several choices including Continental as well as hot items, surprisingly there were hot items for vegetarians too like us. Overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear PCM199,

Novotel Canberra continually strives to improve the quality of our services and our guests experiences, your positive feedback very much assists us in achieving this. I will definitely pass on your comments regarding breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Canberra, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have just come home after having spent the night at the Canberra Novotel. I have to mention straight away that this night away was won by my husband and his office's Christmas party last year. It took us some time to get the children organised since we don't have relatives in Australia and yesterday was the big day - we dropped off the children with friends and were looking forward to our first night away without them in about ten years.
When we arrived there first was no record of a booking and then a booking for a different date was found. Luckily my husband had a print-out of the booking confirmation for yesterday and the problem was soon resolved. To make up for the initial confusion the friendly receptionist upgraded to an apartment on the 5th floor.
The apartment with a kitchenette, small dining table and second TV looked great.... Certainly worthy of 5 stars. It was modern, clean and because it was on a corner, got plenty of light from two sides. The bathroom looked pretty new as well. It was spacious with a great choice of amenities and a gorgeous rainwater shower head. It even had a clothes' line. The apartment overlooked Northbourne Avenue and London Circuit. Even though there was a fair bit of traffic below, we could barely hear it thanks to the double-glazed windows.
We spend the afternoon shopping, had a gorgeous dinner at the "Chairman and Yip" (highly recommended!), less than five minutes away on foot, had a nightcap at the hotel bar and returned to the room at around 11pm. The hotel had participated in Earth Hour, which we thought was great. When we came back from our dinner, there were candles everywhere....on the stairs, in clusters on tables...absolutely beautiful.
However, when we got back to the room immediately we noticed the "thump", "thump", "thump" of the basses of music. We looked outside and saw the nightclub across the road. We weren't thrilled, but we thought we'd be ok. While the double-glazed windows worked well to block most of the sound of the traffic below (and there is a lot on a Saturday night), they didn't make any difference with the music.
We went to bed and the thumping music got louder as the night wore on. We were pretty certain that in Canberra nightclubs have to close at 3am. Still,we considered going home, but we had had some wine, so it would have been an expensive taxi trip home plus another one in to town the next day to pick up our car.
We also thought of asking for a different room, but by now it was 2am and we didn't really feel like packing in the middle of the night. As I said, we thought the end was in sight. Punctually at 3am the music from the nightclub across the road stopped. But then we discovered more thumping music, which had been overshadowed by the music from the nightclub. We couldn't make out where this second batch of music came from.
I can tell you that that music continued until 5am. Both, my husband, who normally would be able to sleep through a hurricane, and I lay awake until 5am. Just before 5am I got up to look outside and the streets were deserted. It only occurred to me then that this music did not come from a nightclub but from within the hotel. I don't know if they had a function or what it was, and I can't say it with 100% certainty, but I'm pretty sure it came from the hotel.
When we checked out we mentioned the noise and the receptionist was very surprised and recommended that next time we ask for a quiet room. Really? Wouldn't 100% of guests expect a quiet room without having to ask for it?
What makes me so angry is that there is absolutely no way that this hotel does not know about this noise. This happens every Saturday night! We would not be the first people to have stayed in this room (514) on a weekend night and complained afterwards. It wouldn't surprise me if this room was given to us because as non-paying guests our opinion didn't really matter. Not only did we waste a night of our lives in this hotel, the only night in years without our children, and our Sunday is ruined as well, because we are just so tired from lack of sleep. What a shame. A beautiful hotel but the noise was simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: Not 514 or any room at that end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Walk in shower and no bath. Poor lighting for shaving. Good bed and decent desk for laptop work. Dislike paying for Internet (should be free) and $9 for a 1 litre of Evian is a bad joke. Reasonable gym. Plenty of cheap eats nearby. Good central location.

Room Tip: Look at room pics online. Ask at time if check in. Avoid rooms near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I recently spent 1 night at the Novotel, it was go ing to be 3 but!
At a first night rate of $400 plus for a twin room I expected something more than my wife and I got.
The room had no fresh air and the air conditioning was just , wi fi was extra and only way to watch T V was on one' s bed Chair in a corner and some sort of lounge,
Really quite ordinary. No help with luggage very average bar and dining and I am sorry to say tired!
However some members of staff were great, they realised tho issue and did their best.
Breakfast is good but expensive @ 25 for a full meal. Not again for me .

Room Tip: If you do stay here look for a higher room and see room before booking in, I learned later there we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buenodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 57 in Canberra
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing