We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Roomservice!”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Griffith, Australia
1 review
“Great Roomservice!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Yes, the room-service was the best part of this motel. The Novotel was a very chic place to visit, however, some staff members weren't the best.

Checking-in, they didn't tell me how to operate the lifts, or where the restaurant was. Their car-park was and I quote, "Take a left, then another left, and it's there". The car-park was on the back part of the block and down a ramp.

Even though I put a "Do not disturb" sign on my door, the cleaners still tried to come in, while I was in there sleeping!

However, fantastic food, and it's a central location. That is what I paid for, and that's what I got.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Miss D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    1,512
    668
    168
    80
See reviews for
942
1,132
288
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August. Our room was at one end of the 6th floor and was very bright and reasonably large with access to a balcony looking towards the university. Upon opening the door you entered a little foyer then turned left and walked through the bathroom area (shower/toilet in a room on the left - hand basin/mirror etc in the open walkway on the right) into the bedroom. The bedroom had a queen sized bed, two bedside tables, a lounge chair, desk and chair and flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.

The main issue that we had with the room was with what the hotel called their "European style" bathroom. This consisted of a pokey little room that contained a shower and, behind the door, a toilet. The remainder of the bathroom, i.e. wash basin, mirror, towels etc, was actually located outside this room in the open space looking out into the bedroom (see photos). This meant that if you went to the toilet you had to walk out of that room to the hand basin to wash and dry your hands. Whilst this was mildly inconvenient the real issue was at night when if someone went to the bathroom they then had to turn on a light that shone straight into the bedroom to see what they were doing at the hand basin.

There was a safe in the large wardrobe and also a minibar. Wifi was either free or attracted a fee depending upon your ACCOR membership status.

Breakfast buffet had a good mix of cold and hot food although some dishes had to be ordered direct from the kitchen. Unfortunately we had an issue on both mornings in obtaining gluten free bread. The first morning we ordered it from one of the waiters and when it had not arrived 10 minutes later we left as we had a meeting to attend. The second morning we ordered it again from a different waiter and this time when it had not arrived after 10 minutes mentioned it to one of the supervisors. She was very good but the bread still took another 7 minutes to arrive.

Parking is available at a cost underneath the building. Unfortunately the car spaces are very tight with cars packed in like sardines, and you have to leave your keys with the attendants which means that you may find your car in a different space to where you left it.

Would give this hotel another go as it has been good in the past and is reasonably well located but would request a room with a non-European style bathroom.

Room Tip: Room with a non-European style bathroom. I understand the European style bathrooms are in rooms on L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightning Ridge, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This motel has gone down hill the staff were uptight and not very helpful on booking in the room was not set out very well we both ran into the bed corners numerous times and in the bathroom there is an door stop possibly from the original bathroom and we stubbed our times numerous times. We went out tin the morning and came back at 2.30 for a nanna nap our room had not been cleaned and about 3pm they knocked on the door to clean the room so we asked then to do the bathroom and leave the rest.
Breakfast was not that great I would say so to the War Museum breakfast is great there. Have stayed here before and been very happy would definately not go back again. Accor Advantage need to get there act together

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackopal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed one night in Novotel Canberra with two young kids last school holiday .
Room is big enough for four of us. And Novotel is very kids friendly .

We are happy with the indoor pool, restaurant ( dinner and bfast) and the staff.
Only problem is parking unless you don't mind to pay $$$ for valet parking.

Overall, we think is a good place to stay in Canberra CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcakebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear cupcakebear,
It is always lovely to read that our guests enjoyed their time spent in Canberra. We take pride in providing our guests with excellent service and I will more than happily pass on your remarks to the Restaurant staff. Please be aware, the charge for parking is a common fee amongst many inner city properties and is intended to be able to provide a valet service and secure parking to all our guests. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you need to be in the city, rather than at Parliament House, then this is a good hotel with restaurants, shops, offices, etc in easy walking distance, which means you don't have to rely on the limited number of taxis available in Canberra. Rooms are in good condition. Hotel staff are helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KnR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#22 of 57 in Canberra
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#23 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing