We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canberra stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    1,475
    636
    160
    68
See reviews for
911
1,105
284
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Front desk service was average with one staff member carrying out checkins and a furtherr 2 staff having a discussion at the end of the counter. When they attended the counter the service was friendly.

Room was only a basic room and was adequate and reasonable value for cost. Following morning I wanted to use the hairdryer but unfortunately there was no hairdryer in the room. I reported this to the desk on checkout only to be told I probably did not see the hairdryer in the wardrode. I assured the young lady I checked as the defuser was there but no hairdryer. A small matter.
Location is excellent and I would utilise the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChrisPursehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

To spend a week end with family at Novotel Canberra is worthwhile. You will enjoy the swimming pool and the sauna (which by the way should not be recommended for children under 8 years old, mainly for the comfort of adults and children safety). The swimming pool is a bit noisy when a lot of kids are playing there. The restaurant serves good food, nice wines but the service is a bit too long. The staff members are professional and friendly. There is an off street parking whith a car keeper, which is convenient, but it comes at a cost. The self catering studio are comfortable and fully equiped. The location is good, the hotel is at a walking distance from the center of the town. The problem is that over the week end, there is some noise coming from a discotheque close by, pom pom pom all over the night! That is a big issue, indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was here for work for four nights.

Excellent location as close to many good restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to the lake.

The hotel has a small but functional gym (which could do with a fan) and a small pool and spa.

During my stay the hotel seemed probably filled to capacity. Several bus loads of tourists every day plus other business travelers. This made the hotel breakfast a social event. Long queues for them to take your room number. Then, you are let loose to find your seat. This would normally be fine but the restaurant was so busy that there was seldom a chance to have your own table, and if there was, there was seldom a clean table or an appropriate breakfast setting. It was very busy, but a little lacking service wise. The food however was plentiful, fresh and tasty.

My room was very spacious, came complete with a shower over a 3/4 bath. Toiletries were adequate.

As mentioned the hotel seemed exceptionally busy and someone in the room next to mine had a habit of coming and going around 4 am and slamming their door - so my sleep was interrupted quite a bit. However, I did appreciate the option of about 4 or 5 different pillows of different levels of firmness.

Lots of space in the room that was also appreciated. A full 3 seater couch and small table plus a desk and plenty of room to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareazles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing