We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Hotel in Canberra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel in Canberra”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in Novotel Canberra for 1 night early January this year (2013) on our way to Melbourne. Although it's a short stay, it's a pleasant stay. The staffs were friendly & helpful. The location is just perfect, in the heart of Canberra. We didn't get a chance to taste the food though as it's quite a rush trip for us.

I left a little feedback when checked out regarding the toys area in the lounge room. They put the kids' toys on the left corner, where there's a very short wall that kids can easily bump onto it when standing up (from sitting down). My son poorly bumped on to it twice. I suggest to move it to safer corner.

Overall, we were happy with our stay & looking forward to stay there again when we go to Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra_8th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,484
    643
    165
    69
See reviews for
916
1,115
285
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed there on the weekend, for the Toulouse Latrec exhibit - hotel is in a central location with plenty of eateries within walking distance, breakfast buffet was fantastic. We were also upgraded which was a lovely surprise and the suite was really lovely. Will definitely stay there again for any further exhibits - whole family enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Daisy2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Daisy2574
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our location to the city and many popular restaurants is defiantly convenient for all our guests. I will defiantly pass on the great feedback to our Chef and restaurant staff in regards to the buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your family back for future exhibitions in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I picked the Novotel as an Accor Advantage Plus member and as its location is in a perfect location to access the city and ANU. While there was some confusion between reception and the kitchen over current menus, Peta from the Restaurant, was incredibly helpful and made sure everything was dealt with. The food quality was very good and I was quite impressed. Following the 'essentials' list, I called down to get some panadol, however was first told that there was none, and upon pressing a drawn-out story about the fact that they had run out. The room was quite stylish and neat and spacious for what I needed. It was a lovely stay however I would highlight that there needs to be a bit more internal communication about what is promoted as being available for guests (i.e. food menus and items on the 'essentials' list).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lexielot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location right in the heart of Canberra. The staff was very friendly and helpful with tips of things to do, and they had our sofa bed made up for us extremely quickly. My only gripe is that the parking was a bit pricey, especially considering that there is quite a bit of free/cheap parking on weekends within a block or two of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank phillipdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear phillipdavid
It is always lovely to read that our guests enjoyed their time spent with us in Canberra. Our location to the city and many popular restaurants is defiantly convenient. The charge for parking is a common fee amongst many inner city properties and is intended to be able to provide a valet service and secure parking to all out guests. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Strange room layout and utilitarian. Toiletries minimal at best. Executive Room is large with good desk space. Problems connecting to internet. If you can find a great rate, it might be worth dealing with the problems, but otherwise, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very pleasant hotel in a convenient location close to a selection of restaurants.Accommodation in Canberra is generally expensive and the Novotel is no exception.Very comfortable bed and good standard and selection available at buffet breakfast.Stayed on the seventh floor and bathroom ridiculously small barely enough room for shower and toilet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a total of five nights whilst visiting family. Spacious room with a mini kitchenette gave us plenty of room to move. Conveniently located for most parts of Canberra. A very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Truffle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 57 in Canberra
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing