We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,484
    643
    165
    69
See reviews for
916
1,115
285
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Room clean, modern, comfy bed, good service, helpful staff, great buffet breakfast. $18 per day to park the car. Best location. Shame that the balcony and chairs (I specifically booked a balcony room) hadn't been washed in a long time. Other than that, everything was very good. (Indoor heated pool, spa, gym and sauna very nice, and included in the tariff)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berty310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Berty310

Thank you for your feedback. We continually strive to improve the quality of our services and our guest experiences, and with feedback such as yours; it allows us to focus on areas which could be improved upon. I will defiantly pass on your comments regarding the balcony and balcony furniture to our housekeeping department, so this can be actioned straight away. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and made full use of amenities, very convient location. Staff helpful and friendly, though at no time did they suggest there bar restaurant facilities. Our room package did not include breakfast, so really simple upsell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Koostan

It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. I do apologize that you were not recommended to dine within our restaurant. I hope if you chose to stay with us in the future you do get to try our buffet breakfast and dining facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable room and responsive service from staff for booking taxis and other assistance. Great bed and choice of pillows - best hotel sleep I've had for ages. The buffet breakfast has a big range and the best home made baked beans ever.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minithemeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear minithemeezer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive feedback on Novotel Canberra. We take pride in providing guests with excellent service and a product that exceeds expectations! I’m glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend in Canberra where we spent two nights in the Novotel. Central location is fantastic, though noise from nightclubs in area is an issue. Rooms are very dated and poorly set out, not sure why you would put the basin outside of the bathroom??? Room was clean though and bed reasonably comfortable.

Staff were generally uninterested in their guests during their stay, for a hotel that rates itself as one of the best I think they need to pick up their act on customer service.

The parking arrangement is very ordinary. You are stung an $18 per night charge to park your car in a very tight underground car park. This charge is very well hidden on website and at check in. On arriving at the car park, the so called "valet" staff informed me that he would park the car and keys would need to be left with him in case he had to move the car later to accommodate more cars or move it to another car park if this one became over crowded. Considering they accept no liability for any damage caused by themselves to my property I refused to leave the keys with them, in which I was told to take it up with the manager. Fortunately the staff at the front desk were understanding and took down my phone number in case there was an issue.

All in all disappointing particularly for the price, I think next time we will try somewhere different.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattjb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. We checked in late and the room was ready - room 713 which is on Northbourne Avenue side of the building. This turned out to be a mistake because although we were on the 7th floor, the traffic noise and music from nearby clubs or pubs could be heard. It wasn't excessive, but unpleasant enough to hear in the background when trying to get to sleep. So request a room away from this street and it should be quieter. The room is very 'beige' in colour and atmosphere. The curtains don't fill the window recess and so daylight streams in from dawnbreak, which is very annoying when all other hotels offer blackout rooms. There was a odd-ish arrangement for the bathroom, which contained a shower recess and a toilet (plenty of room) and the basin, make-up/shaving area was in the bedroom area, like a little tea-making station. Ample hanging space, iron, hairdryer, internet ports (no free WIFI except 1/2hr's worth in the hotel lobby otherwise use the internet room). The bed was comfy, large, good pillows but with the annoying issue of two sheets wrapped over/around the duvet/doona. Why can't hotels use doona covers instead? The room was very clean and in very good condition (carpet/fittings etc).
Breakfast was an absolute highlight of this hotel - very large, very fresh choice of foods and we had it included in the room rate, so I don't know what the cost was, but it was worth it. Definitely one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had.
Would I stay here again - probably but I'd definitely ask for a quieter room. It comes across as a budget hotel simply because it is so bland in the rooms and the bathroom arrangement is odd. It's in a very good location for Canberra, a 3/4 hr walk to Parliament, same to War Memorial, 5 mins to CBD but we found everything shut at 10am in the shopping mall on Saturday, so Canberra lives up to its reputation for being quiet on the weekend!
We discovered by chance an excellent wine bar/restaurant called Benchmark Wine Bar just twenty metres from the hotel entrance. This service oriented restaurant served excellent food and had a really extensive wine list (we drank NZ wines) and the waiter couldn't do enough for us. Definitely go there for a meal if you're at this hotel.
Definitely make the effort to go to the War Memorial (it is a fine testament to our men and women who gave their lives for this country) and also Parliament House offers free tours which are excellent. We looked in the National Art Gallery but it is heavily influenced by modern art.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Northbourne Avenue, which is the noisy side. Get breakfasts included in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 57 in Canberra
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing