We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We like staying at Novotel's because you know what you are getting. Hotel is in a central spot - we could walk to shops & restaurants easily. Reception service was friendly. Room was good & clean. Housekeeping wasn't so good though - we stayed four nights & didn't get fresh soaps etc left during the entire stay, tea/coffee was only replaced on the 3rd day & we ran out of toilet paper because they forgot to replace the empty roll. It didn't bother us much because we just spoke to someone & got them supplied but it's not up to Novotel's normal standards. We were on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel & the room was really quiet. We had room service one night - it was delivered very quickly but was just an average meal. Parking didn't worry us - they were very busy but there was always staff in the car park & we either got directed to a carpark or left the keys for them to park the car. No delays when we needed the car either. Overall we were happy enough with our stay & would stay again of we were ever in Canberra.

Room Tip: Pool on the 2nd floor - we were north of the lifts & the pool was south so we didn't get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Blueysmrs

Thank you for regularly choosing to stay with Novotel. It is our goal to create a great experience for guests that are staying with us and thank you for the feedback in the areas in which we can improve. I will defiantly pass your compliments on to our staff in the car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 3,368 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Wollongong, Australia
32
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Received a complementary upgrade to a king sized bed upon request. While the room was not so spacious, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have experienced. Good quality breakfast. Excellent central location to shopping, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Narromine
23
Reviewed October 11, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on business.
When I checked in I was told I had an upgraded room. I'm not sure of their standard rooms but this one (231)was very nice and very comfortable, heaps of space and nicely fitted out.

I'd very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here previously & again found staff helpful. Room was excellent, large, spottlessly clean & quiet as requested - appreciaterd upgrade. Very convienent in the CBD will be staying here again and recommend it also to families. Kodak in CBD Canberra

Room Tip: Request a room away from lifts and higher levels to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KodakBrandyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewonly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Second time in this Hotel for one night.

1) Room
The rooms are always nice and clean. That's why we pick the a Novotel after all.

2) Pool
Decent pool but very cold and very narrow. You will need to use it after or before rush hour.

3) Food
BIG problem. This is seriously overpriced.
Dinner: If you want a bit of meat from the VERY limited menu, you may $40. Hello?! 200m next door is an exqusite Indian Taj Mahal restaurant that offers a complete dish for $15 !!!

Breakfast: Very expensive with below-average food. And we are not picky at all.

Sorry, but the poor Food and the high-price will make this the last visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear TripTraveller2012

Thank-you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. Please be advised that your comments help us to improve the quality of our services and our guest experiences, and our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef have been provided with your feedback. Thank-you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Canberra and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#25 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $105 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing