We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,516)
Filter reviews
3,516 results
Traveler rating
871
1,600
737
204
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
1,600
737
204
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationnorthbourne avenuecar parkingbuffet breakfastper dayking roompleasant staywar memorialnational galleryparliament housevaletsaunacbdaustraliaexhibitionfloriadeeateries
Filter
Updating list...
2,768 - 2,773 of 3,516 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Overpriced for what it offers in terms of room size, decor and facilities. The best thing about it is the breakfast but dinner in the restaurant was below average quality. Why do they charge extra for parking which should be included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creswell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Canberra. The hotel operates under a dynamic price structure that reflects the demand of rooms. During the year, we also have packages that include breakfast as well as special accommodation rates available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

comfortable stay,good service,,also a good central spot,i will definetly stay there every time i go to canberra and im down there probably every month.thanks,food was delicious,so thanks chef bec i tried other hotels and they were shocking,so it was a nice good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curiosity307872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

We very much appreciate the wonderful feedback regarding your stay at the Novotel Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

TV should be included in room rates.
Shower exelent. Room was very quiet.
Central to canberra. Bed was most comfortable. Reseption friendly and helpfull.
Parking great.
I am a smoker and would have prfered a balcony so will ask for one next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scenic307748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed two nights, booked two interconnecting rooms for 3 adults including one disabled adult. Special access room for disabled adult was spacious and had a large well designed bathroom. Rooms were clean, modern and well appointed, beds were comfortable, mini-bar with standard array of beverages etc. Complimentary toiletries included guest soaps, shower gel and shampoo. No shower cap provided.

Check in was easy, friendly valet in the car park, very helpful and welcoming staff on reception. First impression of the hotel were very good. All staff were courteous, professional and very helpful.

The One Restaurant and Bar were very nice, had dinner and drinks on the first night, service was good, menu choice was good too. I had barramundi with celeric mash and it was excellent. Cocktails from the bar are very nice. Breakfast buffet in the morning was just your standard hotel breakfast fare, nothing extraordinary.

Swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and gym are located on the second floor. Swimming pool is an indoor, heated pool there is a terrace area outside of the pool. Pool was heated and very nice, ample clean towels were provided in the pool area. Nice sauna and spa bath is large enough for about 6 adults and was very relaxing.

Internet is available in rooms for about $25 for 24 hours, also 30 mins of free wifi in reception per day. One of the best things about this hotel is the location, it is within walking distance of Canberra Centre Shopping mall and surrounding area has plenty of cafes and restaurants. Easy trip to most of the major attractions. Parking at the hotel was $18 per day with valet parking.

Summary: The Novotel Canberra is very well located in downtown Canberra close to shopping and dining. The hotel is clean and modern with comfortable rooms. The bar and restaurant are good. The service was excellent and the staff are an asset to Accor. I will stay here again when I next visit Canberra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetConquistador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at the Novotel. It always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback.

I will be sharing your comments with all staff as i am sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to everyone as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is the only hotel that I've ever stayed in, in Canberra so I cannot really compare but I'd be quite confident to say that the Novotel would rate very highly. The Hyatt is probably the only other decent international hotel in this city but the location is less than desirable. This Novotel is located right in the heart of the city and just a few blocks away from the main shopping and dining districts. Rooms were very clean and contemporary, service was friendly, and if there is anything I was upset about, it was only the lack of car parking spaces!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at the Novotel Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with the team. At the hotel we do strive to conmtinuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews