We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good accommodation but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We booked at Medina as part of a holiday deal with Qantas and we were pleased with the location and the one-bedroom apartment. Good facilities, walking distance into the City Centre and a good deal for a four-day weekend in Canberra. But we arrived on a Saturday night and paid the price for the Apartments' location immediately above a 24 hour McDonalds outlet with drive-through facilities. And our second floor room was directly above the drive-through and over-looking the car parking! It was seriously noisy - people, cars, drunks, idiots. A loud quartet rendition of "Unchained Melody" at 5am was the last straw, so i-pods had to make do as ear-plugs until a visit to the chemist next day. Subsequent nights weren't nearly so bad but this is a serious problem. Insist on a room away from the western side!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

Old and tired, needs a lot of work to make it the claimed "4 star". We only stayed there because it was recommended to us (we must have got the wrong place!) and we needed the extra space of an apartment type hotel for our sports gear. Although the staff were very friendly and helpful I would spend the extra $50 or so and stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamdonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I have two young children and stayed here in May 08 for a short break from Sydney. We booked the accomdation with an Entertainment Card voucher so we saved a little. The apartment was well furnished, clean, warm and in a good location. Parking avail underneath was secure but cost $8.00 per night, which we were happy to pay. Staff friendly and professional. Check in/out was very quick and simple with no surprises.

Pool looked lovely but definitely for summer!. Plenty of room for the kids to run around and would recommend it to anyone staying in canberra for a short stay.

If ordering delivery, do not use the Delivery book on the fridge, order from a restuarant in the yellow pages, much cheaper!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eparra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

my mother, my 2 auntes and i stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for a night and i have to say i was surprised at how nice it was. we had a lovely balconey looking at mt anslie and it was just a short stroll to the newly re-furbed civic shopping mall.

the beds where very comfortable with nice pillows, which is a must for me, as i am very picky about what i sleep on. the staff where friendly and helpful. i had a head ache and i rang reception for pain tablets and someone was at the door with them before i had hung up.
the only down side was the fact that a bunch of teenagers decided to party in their room and kept everyone up. maybe they should have a no party after midnight policy.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eros_and_psyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We spent 7 nights at this hotel and found it to be excellent. Very spacious light and airy 1 bed apartment with all that is needed to be self sufficient - e.g. full size fully equipped apartment kitchen with washing machine, laundry trough and dryer located within large bathroom . Location was great being close to bus interchange and huge shopping centre with supermarket which was open 7 am to 10 pm. All staff we encountered were excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Canberra

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raevalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

I have spent 6 weeks at the Medina. I travel to Canberra regularly for work, and prefer to stay in serviced apartments (as I can cook there). If it wasn't for the Kitchen, I'd stay somewhere nice like the Novotel across the road. But here is a summary for your benefit:

Positives:
* Nice pool
* Nice Gym (as far as Canberra hotels go)
* Excellent cafe downstairs in the lobby
* Service with a smile - always
* Spacious car park
* Jacuzzi in the bath
* Spacious apartments
* Excellent Location
* Kitchen!

Negatives:
* Tired and worn out look
* Often light bulbs in rooms need replacement
* Often TV remote does not work
* Heating barely every works properly. Even the portable heater that the porter brought up for me doesnt work. Saving grace is: Plenty extra blankets.
* Can be very noisy (bring earplugs!)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

I was very reluctant to stay here again after a very disappointing experience I had here about 18 months ago, the room was very tired and in much need of a re-vamp, marks all over the walls, stained carpet and worn furnishings.
It was only a fantastic deal on the net that I relented and gave this hotel a second chance.
On check in we were handed a key for the 6th floor, so far so good, if the room was rubbish at least we'd have a view !!
What a pleasant surprise when we opened the door to find the apartment had undergone a total makeover, new carpet and furnishings, freshly painted walls, the whole place spotlessly clean and we had a great view.
In the afternoon we had a swim in the heated outdoor pool, it's not like a bath but quite OK, the gym was well equipted with running machines, cycles, rowers etc and everything worked.
We hit the jackpot with this one, great value for money.

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank nelliesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court

Address: 74 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#26 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $116 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive James Court Hotel Canberra
Medina Executive James Court Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing