We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big space at 2 bedroom spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“big space at 2 bedroom spa”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

the living room and kitchen is very big, the flat screen tv is a bit old and the view is very zoomy. it has quite a few channel too. there is also TV at the master bedroom. the parking space at the garage very limited most of them are reserved. if you wanna park on the street behind the apartment i think its secure enough, there are BP and 7Eleven there and the mcdonnald restaurant open 24 hours available downstair just behind the building. may be walkable to Canberra Centre shopping mall, but i did not dare to try. The spa tub is also a bit old but i dont mind. the carpet is a bit dirty, so better wear your foot wear all the time. i did not have time to try swimming pool and gym, but i saw the pool reasonable big and 2 whirlpool there as well. You cannot walk to Floriade tulip at commonwealth park, is too far.

Room Tip: 2 bed room spa is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RnWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear RnWSydney

Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and positive comments.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Canberra.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    542
    359
    145
    82
See reviews for
674
191
28
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our organisation recently travelled to Canberra for a major event and we were very happy with the standard and service of the accommodation at Adina. Jessica Anderson, our reservations consultant, was very helpful before, during and after our stay and was always happy to assist. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel was in a very good location. We would definitely use this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamArmatys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear SamArmatys

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to read you found our location handy and our rooms clean and comfortable. I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Adina for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) during our visit to Canberra and Floriade. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable with a well fitted kitchen, dining area and two bathrooms. We also had our own balcony with a very basic table and 2 chairs setting. All good so far.

The Reception staff were really helpful, providing maps, bus timetables etc. Canberra and especially the airport, have very little signage and hardly any tourist information.

The Adina is centrally located, close to the shops, buses, taxi rank and right on a main street (Northbourne Ave). Unfortunately it is also located next to the 24 hour McDonalds (Maccas) and a 7Eleven. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise levels; however the impact cannot be stressed enough.

We were woken up at regular intervals on both nights by Maccas customers, yelling out to each other, revving car engines, tooting horns and performing ‘donuts’ in the street. Our room overlooked the drive through, street parking areas and 7Eleven. This meant that not only were we woken up during the night but bright and early in the mornings. The truck drivers would visit Maccas or 7Eleven and there would be a cacophony of the constant beeping of reversing trucks and air brakes.

If you want a comfortable apartment to stay in, the Adina would tick that box. If you want a good night’s sleep however, without the interruptions of idiots in the street, then you should look around. If we return to Canberra, I know we will be staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room due to proximity of McDonalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Tripper2Melbourne

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
For your next visit please request a room away from McDonalds as this will be a quieter room.
We hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in Canberra.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we staid at Adina apartments for 4 days and were very pleased with the physical layout of the ,
suite as well as the very helpful staff. the ideal position of the building makes it very easy to walk ,
to the city centre and the car park is most useful.highly reccomended Peter and Anna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Peter and Anna
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Canberra in the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The 2 bedroom unit was clean and well presented. Great location walking distance to eateries. Very disappointed that extra charges for parking and Internet services. Appliances badly in need of updating microwave and washing machine. Just a small thing supply decent toilet paper ! ;) it cannot cost that much more !

Room Tip: Less noise in higher apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Les G

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and loved our location.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your comments will be passed onto the relevant departments for immediate action. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I initially planned to stay at the well-known and reviewed Aria hotel but mistakenly booked into the Adina. I do not regret this mistake.
The one bedroom apartment was all we could have expected, big, well-furnished and equipped, clean and within minutes of the city centre.
Staff were uniformly helpful from locating the SMTP address for my Microsoft Outlook, arranging taxis and bus tours for my wife.
No restaurant or coffee shop but McDonald literally attached to the building, and as mentioned above it is within minutes of the many cafes and restaurants in the city centre.
I would have on hesitation of staying here in the future.

Room Tip: We had 116 facing on to the main road but no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brocklehirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear brocklehirst

Thank you for your review of Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Canberra.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late after a long day, we were obviously the last people to check in and the staff were waiting to leave (around 9.45pm) ... Apartment is small and compact but clean, however I specifically requested a quiet, rear facing room after reading some other reviews, and of course we got upstairs to find a street facing room - and nobody on reception now to ask for a change if room ... It is a Sunday night, so I thought perhaps it wouldn't be too bad, however I have now been awake almost all night listening to trucks rumble past, broken up by the occasional taxi honking! Thankfully it is only one night .....

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Garl8

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Address: 74 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#25 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive James Court Hotel Canberra
Medina Executive James Court Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing