We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked in and was "upgraded" to a two bedroom apartment. First apartment had a strong odour and we requested and were moved to another aparment. Whilst the staff were friendly enough, the premises are extremely disappointing. Apartment was dirty, noisy and with uncomfortable bed and in need of a good clean and renovations.

Used the swimming pool and spa area both of which are in need of renovations as there were tiles missing and pipes exposed. Would NOTstay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grid5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Executive James Court. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

We do strive to maintain the upkeep and cleanliness of the hotel, however I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping and Maintenance departments.

Should you wish to discuss in more detail please contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only had a short stay at this hotel, however we really enjoyed our experience. The staff were exceptional during our time there being very helpful and informative. The rooms were quite spacious and provided plenty of room for our friends who came for dinner one night. We found our room to be very quiet although we were not near the main road which may have been an influencing factor. There were plenty of parking spaces although the price was a little high given the other parking options in the vicinity. Overall the stay was a great experience and I would recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest

The team at Medina Executive James Court are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in a 2 br apartment. Very spacious rooms, lounge and kitchen. Two bathrooms, one with a shower and the other with shower and spa. Everything was very clean.

Some traffic noise at night as we had a room facing Northbourne Ave but didn't keep me awake even though I am a fairly light sleeper.
Secure parking is available at $15 per day and was worth it. Very central location so we were able to walk to the Canberra Centre and restaurants close-by.

Outdoor pool and spa also available.

Wasn't impressed that they charge for extending check out time by more than 30 min.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanAmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive James Court. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pictures are great to see, but in reality it's really disappointing. Beds, bathroom and lounge isn't good. All dirty!. THEY say, "We provide free internet", however its a bluff." "We provide good service", which obviously shows poor performance. The only thing I can say good to this apartment is the location. Which is fantastic!. Lastly, staff (employee) are not approachable, not friendly, very offensive. And we hated it.

Room Tip: choose the expensive ones! that's the only way you can experience comfortable life.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meismahname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Medina Executive James Court, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it and I will share your feedback with our team.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, however am disappointed to hear that the remainder of your experience did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise.

With regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Medina on several occasions and apart from the convenience of it having apartments with self catering facilities it's central oocation is a big plus. It's located in the centre of Civic which is the city centre and is minutes from the restaurants and a couple of supermarkets. It is 5 minutes by taxi to Parliment House, and you could walk to the war museum , national gallery , High Court in 20 to 30 minutes if you are feeling energetic. The hotel is comfortable, clean and has tTVs and air conditioners in both the lounge and bedroom.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony but if it is onNorthbourne Ave it can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive James Court. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive James Court in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was chosen for its proximity to the city and for a special treat for interstate family. What a disappointment. They reported to me that the bathroom was not properly cleaned - remnants of previous occupants is without excuse. The beds are rock hard and prevented a good nights sleep. We as a family would certainly not choose this hotel again, or recommend it to other family members and friends who visit from interstate.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salhaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Executive James Court.

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that we hope our guests have.

I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I arranged for my staff to stay at this establishment to attend a conference, they were shocked on their arrival that I would have booked such a low standard of accommodation. The "apartment" was small, dirty and add random items of mens underware laying around. The book in process was terrible, on each occassion (same room) but the checking out was worse, they charged the whole stay($820) to my junior staff members credit card not only without permission, they didn't inform her and didn't issue a tax invoice! Not a good look Mendina I think you really need to lift your standards on all levels in the ACT!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMedina, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Executive James Court.

I was concerned to read of the problems you experienced during your stay with us. Please accept my apologies.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me directly in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#28 of 58 in Canberra
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court

Address: 74 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#26 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $124 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive James Court Hotel Canberra
Medina Executive James Court Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing