We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful large rooms with garden views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is a gorgeous hotel. The rooms are large, very nicely decorated with all the necessary amenities. There are also lovely views of the garden.
Staff were very friendly, happy to help.
Hotel is very large though, it seemed like a bit of a hike each time we went back to our room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,444 - 2,450 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

we stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend, low season, so rates were pretty good. The hotel was excellent. Service was great with smiles all around, offers to deliver luggage to room, discreet room service etc. Rooms were excellent, quiet. We stayed in one of their regular King rooms, which was a huge room with an equally big marble bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and big, desk in one corner, sitting area in another corner, big flat screen tv, modern and clean. One wall of the room was all windows when you opened the curtains you got a pleasant view of the gardens. Bathroom had plenty of towels, toiletries which were replenished daily, rainshower seperately and big bathtub seperate with bathsalts provided for a soak. Clean, big and nice. We didnt eat at the restaurant, so not sure about that. There was no waiting in lines, whenever I got to the reception, if the other staff were busy, someone else would immedialtely come out to help, so service was great. Very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhakti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We planned our wedding ceremony & reception to be in one of their beautiful gardens. We had a fair bit of planning time with them and they were always very prompt, efficient and thoughtful towards us. Things like arranging for our flowers to be stored in a cool room and stopping them from wilting, really saved the day in that regard.
The seating that was set up in the garden was really nice and our ceremony went wonderfully. The catering and service through the rest of the evening was also top notch. There were a couple of small issues between the different areas of staff that were involved, but the lady in charge made sure it all came together well.
The food was very nice, and I'd be happy to return to the restaurant to try it again.
We upgraded our plan to have a suite for the night and it was fantastic. It was as big as most of the houses that I've lived in. And the fittings through were all of high standard.
The breakfast was fairly standard as far as hotel room service goes, so it could have been a little better. But the Hyatt definately went out of their way to provide a venue for our wedding that was memorable and special.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Queenslanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The rooms are obviously of varying quality at various times (probably like a lot of other big hotels I guess). On our past two visits, the rooms were very ordinary. This time, the room (#261) was excellent. Quiet, very modern, clean, extremely comfortable bed and lovely marble bathroom. Ordinarily, we wouldn't risk staying here unless the rates were heavily discounted, but to be fair, this last occasion really hit the spot. No complaints this time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here in May 2010. After all the bad reviews that we've read, we were shocked. How wrong can these people be? The staff on check-in were extremely helpful, and friendly. The Door staff were smiley and friendly. Our room was spotless, and welcoming. The bed was clean, comfortable and warm!! The bathroom was awesome, all the little extras were a nice touch too. The cleaning staff, were also, very friendly and happy. We enjoyed drinks at the bar, where the staff took our orders and we received our orders without any issues, we even received complimentary bowl of "munchies". I really can't fault this hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel, we drove out to Kingston, were we enjoyed a lovely Portugese Dinner...YUM!!! We will definitely be staying here again when we come back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here just recently for 2 nights-since this is the only 5* hotel in Canberra we had some expectations...
Well-arrived around 8pm to the hotel-nobody at the doors
Had to drag my big suitcase on the stairs as there are no ramps to do so-after dragging them in I saw the concierge standing behind his desk and was just watching the whole thing not offering any help-an arabian looking guy....-no racial suggestions here either
Well they didn't fare better at the check in-didn't offer to deliver the luggage again so I had to drag it all the way to the other side of the Hotel which is a fair walk
Got a park view room-well more likely a car park looking room!!!
As this hotel face onto a huge car-park
Since this hotel is mostly for conferences it's quite busy all the time and cars and people coming and going all day,so forget the windows and balcony doors if you want peace and quiet!
Got a room on the first floor-so both under and above there were other guests which finding out the next 2 days was anything but pleasant
The air-condition didn't work so called the staff and they didn't have anyone to fix it till next day-luckily the noise from the smoking people outside stopped around midnight and could open the doors onto the tiny balcony to get some fresh air...
The rattling and slamming of doors and who knows what else was just overwhelming
The only plus which would go for this hotel is the quality of the food as far as the room service menu goes.
I'm really disappointed -spending more than 700 AU$ for 2 nights a big rip off
so I wouldn't recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ical8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

The place has a lot of tradition (being one of the first buildings to be built in Canberra) and is very classy. It is said to be the "top" hotel in Canberra. But if you know other Park Hyatt hotels: Don't expect the same standard! The place is nicely furnished, but a bit run down and outrageously expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STUNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,118 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
757 reviews
1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $151 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing