We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past but never reviewed it for tripadvisor. Our room was very large with king size bed complete with the best down filled pillows, this time we had a balcony that allowed us access to the outside air. Have to say the room was fantastic and the staff were great as always. I was however disappointed with dinner as the seafood buffet was not up to standard and the dinning room lacked any form of atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as this provides outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    554
    189
    76
    50
See reviews for
341
975
101
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is our first stay here. We stayed 2 nights in a Regency Club room and it was an absolutely fantastic experience! From the moment we entered we felt welcomed. The staff are lovely, the rooms are larger than usual rooms and well appointed, it's a great central location and such a lovely experience that we can confidently say its the best hotel we've ever stayed in in Australia!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a two night stay and wished we could have stayed longer! Beautiful room, impeccable in standard, as in our previous stays. The most divine beds & pillows to give a great night sleep. My only wish would be that we could have a room where you can open a window for some fresh air! The staff are always so friendly and accommodating.
The restaurant staff are super friendly.... one in particular, I think from memory her name was Kallyann... she never stops smiling! Beautiful girl.
A lovely gesture on our day of departure when it was 34deg, the concierge gave us a couple of bottles of water for our return journey to Melbourne!
Already looking forward to our next stay at the Hyatt Hotel Canberra... it is our favourite of all Canberra hotels!
The Club house pool... is wonderful! Do try and find time to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are superb... if only you could open a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for one night and would live here if I could! Room was spacious and had large lounge chairs to relax in with desk and king size bed. Bathroom spacious and bath so big I thought I would sink in it! Robes and slippers provided were comfy and overall a very pleasant and special stay. Entire venue although older is kept up to standard and provides immense pleasure well worth the money spent. Will be staying again for that special night away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paru0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My Wife and I had hired out a room for day use as i was going away for xmas, so this was going to be our day to celebrate. The day before i rang Declan at reception to organise the room to make it look more like christmas.

on the 24/12/13 when i came into the room a bit earlier it looked fanatstic. there as a xmas tree with a few presents underneath, 2 bon bons, tinsil and a bottle of wine. Declan had gone beyond my expectations and it made it so much more special for my wife and I.

I would like to thank Declan so much for this extra special room and would recommend him if anyone is looking to make the day extra special

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shano101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just had a very nice and comfortable stay at the Hyatt Canberra to celebrate Xmas and my Mothers Bday!
The hotel itself has a very luxurious old world charm which is complimented by very warm and friendly staff. We where impressed from the very beginning by the ever smiling smartly attired 'bellboys' ( for the want of a better word ) right through to the house keeping staff that greeted us daily with a chorus of "Merry Christmas", "Happy Birthday" and "Happy Boxing Day" ( that's a new one for me, but hey it sounded great! ) The whole sentiment really added to the festive feel!
Our room was pleasant enough with a nice balcony looking directly into a huge lovely old tree.
We where fortunate enough to have Ambassador Lounge access with our room rate which was also a welcome highlight. The only criticism I have here is that the breakfast was very poor...it's a continental breakfast with very limited offerings...a far cry from other 5 star hotel executive lounges! Having said this, the evening drinks and canapés where exceptional!
There where a few disappointments during our stay, however nothing serious enough to detail..Infact the hotel compensated us with complimentary valet parking to make up for our inconveniences...a nice touch, and greatly appreciated!
Overall a very enjoyable experience as it felt like a home away from home...I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked specially for our anniversary breakfast and to say goodbye to Canberra. On arrival we were seated in the breakfast room and someone took our order for tea and coffee which didn't come, then when we approached another waitress when it did come the milk jug appeared to still have the remnants of gravy.
Our breakfast arrived, we also had to ask for toast which came in a bowl (A bowl, I didnt remember ordering cereal!!)
No butter came and to save time my wife went in search of it. Breakfast of sausages, bacon, tomatoes, eggs... for $25.00 - we ordered from the menu. The buffet was $39 or a continental was slightly cheaper. The waitress didn't appear to have the American style filter coffee and I had to explain what a cafetière was. Tea was too strong and coffee tasted like mud, a disappointing experience for about $58.00. While we don't mind paying for a breakfast at an establishment like this - the service, cleanliness, and breakfast was not worth it.
We have travelled extensively, and if the Hyatt want to know how to do breakfast they should visit the Novotel in Waterloo, London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salhaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing