We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$121
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$152
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$153
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$150
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,749)
Filter reviews
2,749 results
Traveler rating
1,705
666
225
83
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,705
666
225
83
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaambassador loungepromenade cafeclub roomseafood buffetart decobeautiful hotelfive star hotelparliament houseold world charmlake burley griffinking roomrooms are largenational librarystandard roomwar memorialluxury
Filter
Updating list...
2,241 - 2,246 of 2,749 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, the Hyatt provided us with a magical getaway. When I rang to book, the gentleman was so helpful and asked if it was a special occasion; I responded that it was an overdue anniversary weekend away. I didn't think any more of this until upon checking in, we were upgraded to a suite. It was a beautiful large room in the old Ambassador wing of the hotel. The bathroom was the best and roomiest I have seen in a hotel. We ordered late lunch room service, and when it arrived, the hotel sent a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne for us.
The fitness centre is excellent, with a lovely indoor pool and high quality machines and weights.
On a beautiful spring Canberra day, there is no better place than sitting on the verandah outside the tea lounge looking out to the manicured gardens.

I highly recommend the Hyatt Canberra and can't wait for a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stay here quite often.
Park out the front or do valet.
Easy check in, great old building with very sympathetic extension.
Typical Hyatt restaurant but with excellent staff, Stuart at breakfast has been there for a hundred years and always has a friendly hello.
But the rooms are standout, we stayed in room 6 which is quite close to reception. Some of the rooms are quite a walk from the front.
Beautiful ground floor room, king size comfortable bed everything you'd expect in a 5 star hotel. Except a ripper bathroom full size bath large shower with lots of pressure and water flow.
Although I didn't use it, there is a very good gym.
The bar although small serves a full range of bevies and the whole place had lots of historic photos of Aussies pollies. Many of the rooms and wings are named after famous PMs.
Walking distance to many attractions including the lake, Parliament House and the many museums.
There are other choices but this place and the staff are very very consistent which for returning guests is important.
Even if you only stay once this place is well worth the spend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Canberra Hyatt hotel and once again it was a 5 star stay despite the lack of high end competition in this market. Room was spacious and very clean, the hotel stunning including the gardens and the recently renovated gym looks great.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but the rooms at the back of the hotel can be noiser due to the location of the car park
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had five nights at the hotel. Late august 2013. We have stayed in various motels in Canberra over many years visiting family and on the way to the snow. Decided to try Hyatt.
Arrived after a long drive and asked for a quiet room. Got 431. After a couple of rough nights sleep worked out it was next to the air conditioning plant room. The a/c sounded like a 747 taking off.
The desk happily shifted us to a rear room overlooking the rear car park on the second floor. 231. Had its own balcony just over the back entrance.

Rooms are great. Lots of space. All little things included that you would expect. Beds are firm.
Servicing of rooms is excellent and almost invisible.

Parking is expensive. $25 / day underground secure parking. Parking around the hotel is free but hard to find and a long way from the rooms. the large number of conference rooms they have and there are numerous conferences every day, means the free parks are hard to find. Didn't much like the guest parking. Really its not Sydney!

After that it was all pay, pay, pay.
WiFi that you would expect free all over the world now is $11 per half hour, 4@9 per day.
Breakfast buffet is $39.
I had the bacon and eggs for $23 plus a flat white for another $5 and waited about 25 minutes for it. I think they only want to do the buffet.
The staff service in the breakfast room was atrocious. They barely managed to pick up used plates. I don't think they are accustomed to a real service breakfast. If you order it seems like you are putting the staff out.
My wife ordered the eggs and bacon. No extras. It usually comes with tomato, potato & sausage. It arrived with 3 cocktail sausages on the plate. She said I didn't want those. The glasses wearing, Indian looking waiter said "Well just leave them on the plate!". I guess that sums it up.

I was disappointed that given the size of the bathroom it still had a shower over bath. Some one has to tell them that times have moved on. A good walk in shower is basic now.

Would I stay here again? Yes I would, but I would be particular about my room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterperfect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A nice hotel and on our company list which I found a little surprising. Food is a little expensive but the gym is really good if that is what you like :)

Will be staying quite a bit over the next few months so happy so far.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rizza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews