We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The only place to stay in Canberra ,(unless you are there for the cricket and want to walk to Manuka Oval), the Hyatt has a sense of history, the gravitas which goes with being the Capital's VIP lodgings and bathrooms which are huge. The food is OK but Canberra has so many great cafes, bars and restaurants there is no need to eat in anyway. A ground floor room will avoid the food smells which come from the restaurant. The only complaint I have is the charge for the internet. It is not that it is so much it just seems cheap and petty for a 5 star hotel to do it. That aside it is a venue Canberra can be proud of. And the bar, open fire and all, IS open on a Sunday night. If you can't find it ask at reception, they are always glad to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been staying at the Hyatt for years - mostly with my family but increasingly when work takes me to Canberra. It has such an elegant feel to it - the bathrooms are a favourite - large by hotel standards and slightly Art Deco in design. Beds are comfortable and the lounge is a great place to meet over tea or drinks. While views can be patchy depending on the room, it is quiet and convenient. An old favourite that never fails.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms right at the back of the hotel which can involve lengthy walks round many corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went down to Canberra arriving at about 2100 hrs on a Sunday night...after driving for nearly 4 hours in heavy rain. The Hyatt was to all intents and purposes closed. No bar, not restaurant no nothing open. The idea of sitting by a log fire with a nice glass of wine after a difficult drive was changed to an expensive bottle of wine from the bar fridge drunk at the end of the bed....welcome to Canberra...Sunday evening 9 pm...this place rocks.
The hotel is surprisingly large but well planned. Rooms sufficient without being spectacular. A bit of a hike from the front door but the porters (I like their uniforms..quirky but good) were pleasant and efficient.
Great gym - which I think is important and one of the reasons we chose to stay at the Hyatt. Would I stay here again...possibly...but I wouldn't be looking to check in on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I really like the Hyatt in Canberra in the beautiful art deco buildings - I've stayed here many times and will go back. Comfy beds, clean, stylish, beautiful bathrooms, good atmosphere and service. The big issue I had this time is the smell of cooking that wafted up to the room both nights - the first night was very bad. I like seafood as much of the next person, but both nights all I could smell was garlic prawns!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've just returned from a weekend at the Hyatt and am already planning to go back. In the last 12 months I've stayed at Lilianfels in the Blue Mountains and the Hilton in Melbourne, and the Canberra Hyatt beat them both hands down. The staff were outstanding, from the doormen to the reception staff, concierge and house-keeping. They all gave the sort of service one would like to expect from a 5 star hotel, but sadly rarely see.

I had booked the standard room, with an additional bed for a child. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the lighting was the best I've had - so nice to be able to have bright (but also dimmable) lighting at night. Block-out curtains meant we all slept in.

The bathroom was very spacious with a great shower, long bath tub, and good toiletries supplied.

The heated pool was an absolute hit with the kids - the only downside being that we had to walk outside to get to it, which was a little chilly! The gym looked well-equipped, though I didn't get a chance to use it.

Buffet breakfast (which was included in our room rate) had many great options, and "proper" coffees were included in the price. It was a little busy at the times we were there, but the staff remained friendly and courteous, and we never had to wait long for any request.

Location was central and convenient to everything.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Canberra Hyatt. I've never been a big fan of Canberra, but now I'm looking for excuses to go back just to stay there!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We love coming back to the Hyatt when we visit Canberra. It's old world charm, comfortable rooms and attentive staff are worth the expense.

The location is superb - you can walk to major attractions including new and old Parliament House, the National Gallery and the High Court.

The breakfast buffet is excellent combined with freshly cooked omelettes and eggs. The Bircher muesli is the best I've had. Room service dinner was good with a varied menu and relatively quick delivery.

I could happily sit in the tea lounge for hours and watch the world go by. The removal of the current prime minister was underway and the world did go by - journalists, politicians. Interesting to see the famous faces who were also staying in the hotel.

We have tried other types of accommodation in Canberra including apartments and so called 5 star boutique hotels, but the Hyatt is our favourite.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back. Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0maDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This Hyatt DOES NOT rate 5 stars. It is beautiful, and is centrally located for the Parliament, High Court, Museums, Australian National University and government offices. The staff is exceedingly pleasant and ineffectually helpful. The room was spacious, well-lit and disappointingly appointed for a 5-star hotel. The TV is at a 90 degree angle to the bed, and there were only two drawers for clothes storage. We asked for a quiet room and were assigned one far from any hotel traffic. But, we were startled and even awakened by the jet-blast noise of water being used in the adjacent room. Despite room rates of nearly $250 AUD, the hotel charges $29 a day for unlimited internet usage and 1.5% for use of a credit card! Meals are Expensive ($39 full buffet breakfast per person).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GentleKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,118 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
756 reviews
1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $152 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing