We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage Hyatt” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heritage Hyatt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is great to see such a charming heritage site -the former Canberra Hotel -revived to this level with elegant decor and touches of times past cleverly executed.
The ambience was peaceful and the garden views from various points quite lovely.
Check-in and out service was very efficient and friendly. Our King room was in the newer ground floor area - very comfortable and quiet, gentle tones, overlooking a secluded garden area, and with a superbly equipped gigantic bathroom. The service at the Cafe could have been slightly more attentive, but it was Easter and the holiday mood was in swing. The breakfast was not exactly great value for those who like it light, but pleasant nevertheless. Dinner (a la carte) on our first night was average quality, with the pork belly entree the definite star, but the service was attentive and it was a busy night. All in all, a lovely spot to call home while spending three Autumnal days in Canberra.

Room Tip: Room 253 ground floor restful with large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foowashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    554
    190
    76
    50
See reviews for
342
978
101
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a whim. Having lived in Canberra for many years it seemed like the right thing to do...a trip down memory lane. I have previously enjoyed the high tea, breakfasts, gym and bar. The room was disappointing in so many ways. The rooms are large with plenty of space but poorly designed. The TV is on the side of the bed so difficult to watch... One of the only times I watch TV is in bed in a hotel. Very uncomfortable viewing. The room we had was on the ground floor, it was quite dark even on a sunny morning. I was able to hear the person in the room above walking around. The plumbing was noisy so I heard them go to the toilet and shower. The most frustrating part was the Internet. My own Internet access on my iPad, phone and USB hub did not seem to connect (3 different accounts) ..I understand this is related to the building and is a common complaint. The hotel wifi has a charge. It is time hotels included this as complimentary and especially if the building prevents use of personal Internet access.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,260 reviews
434 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My experience was not terrible, but it was disappointing. When a hotel opts to label itself 5-star (says the website, "the city's finest international 5-star hotel) and classify itself as part of the Park Hyatt family, it sets expectations for customers. My experience on this stay did not live up to those expectations.

I arrived at the hotel around 1p on a weekday. My taxi pulled up, and no doorman or bellman came out to help. The taxi driver and I removed the bags from the boot. I then went up the steps at the entrance by myself and entered the hotel lobby by myself...no assistance with bags, doors, etc.; no staff member was in-sight.

I went to the registration desk. Kudos to the hotel for having a room ready prior to check-in time. Check-in itself, though, was purely transactional ("Name." "Credit card." "Number of keys.").

My room was okay. In my opinion, the public areas of this hotel are elegant, but the rooms need to be renovated. My room's carpet was faded. I had a small balcony, but the door to the balcony was prone to sticking and thus barely able to open. Paint on the doorframe was peeling. The desk chair needed a new covering. The room's lights had an annoying eco-function wherein I would be sitting in the room, or even walking about the room, and all of a sudden all of the room's lights would shut themselves off, leaving only the bedside lamp or desk lamp on. Irritating!

I had access to the Ambassador Lounge during my stay. The lounge itself is nice, with a lovely balcony and a nice room. The spread of canapes in the evening and the breakfast in the morning was very nice; no complaints. The service in the lounge, however, was lackluster. The staff barely interacted with me, other than to tell me that the lounge would be shutting in a few minutes. Plates were not cleared in a timely fashion; each morning I arrived, several tables had been departed by guests but still had dirty plates sitting on them. I entered the lounge at midday (during which coffee/tea is available), and probably half the tables had dirty teacups sitting on them.

The business centre is quite irritating. I needed to print a document, so I emailed it to myself in order to print it in the centre. The centre has two computers...but you have to pay by the minute for access to those computers, even AFTER you have already paid to access the internet in your room! (When I clicked the "already subscribed" button on these computers and attempted to log-in, it wouldn't work, referring me back to the front desk to purchase a prepaid by-the-minute card). I subverted this by simply putting the document on a zip drive and uploading it to the computer.

I checked-out very early due to an early flight. I arrived at the desk, and no one was there to assist me for about 3-4 minutes. That drives me crazy: if you are a five-star property, hire enough staff to have your registration desk manned at all hours. I should not have to start making noises in order for someone in the back office to realize I need assistance. The gentleman who came out to help me had a loosened tie and a black jacket with white stains all over the lapels, as if he'd spilt milk all over himself. Upon checking-out, I realized that I had left my mobile phone in my room. Now, my fault, but at most hotels, this involves simply giving me a key to the room so I can run up and grab it. Despite the fact that I had not left this employee's sights in-between handing in my key and realizing my mobile was in the room--and despite no one else being in the lobby--he refused to re-key the room, instead asking a security staff colleague to meet me at the room and unlock it. Seriously?

I then got to exit the lobby by myself (again, no assistance with bags or doors) and get in a taxi again with no assistance.

Needless to say, whilst not a terrible stay, the hotel did not live-up to its five-star or Park Hyatt billings, nor what I paid to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Club room. The room itself was fine - but I found the bed quite firm, but that is a personal thing. Pillows were flat and not comfortable. Bathroom was large, well set out, had all you would need. Large walk in shower with plenty of room.
Staff were polite, helpful, and knowledgable. Could benefit with more front door staff to expedite checkin.
But, why is there still a charge for wifi ( $29 per 24 hours) though in a club room there is free wifi in the Ambassador Lounge? This is very poor for a good hotel in 2013.
And, some furniture in the common areas and the Ambassador Lounge is in desperate need of refurbishment - dirty greasy upholstery, some chairs with upholstery falling off, dirty stained carpets, chipped woodwork. While I know these things happen, they should be seen to quickly, especially considering the price charged,
But overall, considering the lack of quality hotels in Canberra, the Hyatt is OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great Location with good taxi service at door. Wonderful rooms with added verandah/outside area. Luxurious bathrooms and good amenities and service. Fabulous good quality food at the restaurant buffet and well worth the expense.
Would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you request smoking you get a lovely private part of the outside verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had never been to Canberra, this was the first time. I was at the Hyatt for 6 nights and found the hotel a great base location. Service was good, food and beverage selection was great. As I work globally, I will definite recommend this hotel to my fellow co-workers and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryBird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having to queue to book in to a 5 star hotel is something I am not used to.Expecting the same standard as the Park Hyatt in Sydney was naive.No offer was made to show my husband and I to our room,simply vague directions.... Walk straight ahead to the black and white tiles and the lift will be on your left. We had to ask a cleaner to direct us after we became lost.The room was underwhelming- a stale smell pervaded. The bed was very uncomfortable because it sloped significantly to the right . The pillows were the worst we have encountered - too soft and , lacking support . The toilet seat would not stay up. There were dirty marks on the wardrobe ceiling. Phone calls to fix the faulty desk lamp were unanswered. Reception upon check were indifferent to our concerns.
I was looking forward to an exceptional experience in this historic hotel that has been on my bucket list for years. The experience let me down

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing