We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Devonshire Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Devonshire Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The courtyard at the Hyatt Hotel in Canberra is a really pleasant place to have Devonshire Tea.
We each received 3 deliciously warm freshly cooked scones to eat with strawberry jam and double cream. The scones come with either a small pot of tea (a small selection is offered) or coffee.
The service and decor live up to the Hotel 5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    509
    172
    71
    47
See reviews for
296
883
96
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Totally disappointed, over rated and over priced. Took my partner to Canberra for the weekend to celebrate his birthday and thought we would indulge and stay at the Hyatt. The bed was extremely hard, sheets were far from "crisp" general bedding was very average. Cleanliness in the ambassador lounge was poor. We had booked for 2 nights only stayed for 1 moved to another hotel nearby paid half the price and had an amazing experience. Must say the building is magnificent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was another visit - and not as good as the last but, if I hadn't stayed before, I probably would think nothing of it. It may have been because it was the very slow period between Christmas and New Year, but the service just wasn't up to Hyatt standard. Reception was slow (both check-in and check-out) and not particularly welcoming. Likewise in the cafe: service was slow, but at least it was friendly. Room was great and the hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I have just had one night at the Hyatt. We have stayed at the hotel many times over the years and we have never had a bad experiance. This stay, we had a deluxe park room, first time, normally stay in the newer rooms at the rear of the hotel. We were not disppointed, room was a good size, with a view over the gardens. Beds are always good and bathroom is large. Only negative was the cobwebs on the windows and on the air conditioning ducts. The buffet breakfast is just about the best around (almost as good as Westin Frankfurt), huge selection of cold and hot food, pastries and egg station, if you wish. Good flat whites as well.
Just before we left, my wife had a coffee in the lounge - $6.50 is just a bit steep !!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bed and breakfast package as the breakfast is very expensive otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A great classy Art Deco hotel - feels like a country club house. We found the service excellent - check in was a little slow but a group arrived in front of us - stuff happens! The rooms are clean and large as are the bathrooms. The gardens and bar area are nice. Room service was expensive and the food ok - the only area that wasn't up to scratch. The prices were 5* - the food was 3*. You're walking distance from Parliament (new & old), parks and Lake Burley Griffin. A great characterful place to stay in Canberra

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived early from Melbourne and were treated to an early check in. We had a few hours to kill before a wedding we were attending so we went and grabbed a coffee from the lounge area. We sat outside and it felt as if we were in the middle of the country - beautiful green grass with trees and flowers. A perfect place to relax. Our only complaint would be that the coffee was dreadful and the gardeners just popped out of nowhere and we were forced to leave due to my boyfriends nasty hay fever.

We then decided to go into town for lunch, and all of the staff members were willing to help. I find that at some hotels with high star ratings the staff members are forced to be stuffy and are reluctant to chat, whereas at the Hyatt in Canberra everyone seemed down to earth and willing to chat - again aiding the country-like feel.

Our wedding later that evening served only a few canapés, so on return to our room we ordered room service - it came promptly and was the perfect (almost) midnight snack.

In all the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the staff were fantastic - would we stay again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic Park King room and it was large and comfortable enough for one evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraEmilyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I'd stay here again, don't get me wrong, but i'd call it 4.5 stars, not 5. The rooms were large (the large bathrooms might have made it seem more this way).

The service wasn't quite right. My check in might have been done by a trainee, otherwise I can't explain why she was paying little attention to me and constantly looking at what her friends were doing behind the scenes. I asked her to pass amessage on to my partner who would be a few minutes behind me (to let him know our room no.) instead he waited in the near empty lobby for a half hour.

I'd recommend getting a room with breakfast. The spread is great, plus a la carte is just as expensive as buffet. I'm pretty sure room plus breakfast for two is cheaper than room plus two paying for buffet separately.

So the room was large but old, the service wasn't great, breakfast was expensive, and there's no shops close by. But returning to Canberra, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing