We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Comfy bed, nice linens, good lighting, robes, slippers, lovely bath products in the beautiful marble bath, a safe and even a kettle. We had a comfy small seating area and our room was very quiet, even with weekend weddings at the hotel. Staff was exceptional from reception to bell staff to friendly, fun, interesting Ross who was tending bar. Good location to Parliament and most embassies, plus near the major access road across the river to several museums. Although underground parking was A$25, there were plenty of free, convenient parking spaces near the back entrance to the hotel. WiFi was A$25/day. Small issue was the a/c which blew directly down on the beds. Public areas were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    554
    189
    76
    50
See reviews for
341
975
101
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt as part of a friend's wedding celebrations. The heritage style of the building is beautiful although it does have a slight stuffiness about it. The receptionist was efficient without being overly friendly. Our Park Room was large with all the standard features but the size and opulence of the bathroom was the real drawcard - lovely deep bath, double shower, plenty of room to put your toiletries, fluffy bathrobes and beautiful bath products.

My husband lost his tie on the way in from the carpark to our room. After calling reception to see if anyone had handed it in there was a knock at the door. The concierge (sorry, I didn't get his name) offered his tie which thankfully matched my husband's suit. This gesture was very much appreciated.

The wedding party had dinner in a segregated part of the Promenade Cafe. The waiter was friendly and engaged with each member of the party without being too casual. The food was delicious - the only downside was the bar closed early as it was a public holiday so no after dinner drinks or coffee.

The Hyatt is a lovely indulgence for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Basic hotel at high prices
Stayed here 22 years ago at nothing has changed
Sadly needs an upgrade
Resturant is of average standard
Quite frankly would of expected a better quality !
In excellant location for sightseeing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjmMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Canberra Hyatt is one of the best and most unique hotel experiences in Australia. It is also perfectly setup for young children, if you are happy to spend the money.

I read a recent review of the Hyatt that suggested that the hotel was a bit run down and the service staff were all students - and although unfair, there is a grain of truth in this. On our most recent visit, the rooms were musty when the kids gave the curtains a good shake and the televisions should have been replaced years ago. And although the service in general is excellent and friendly, there were some cracks around the edges that you wouldn't expect in a five star hotel - eg the concierge could have been better versed in what was going on around town, such as feature exhibitions at the art gallery etc.

But any weaknesses are fully redeemed by the magnificence of the hotel itself, which has an unique Art Deco ambience and beautiful gardens set in a lovely (and convenient) location near the lake. The rooms are large and quiet and the bathrooms in particular ooze old-style charm. Be sure to also go for a walk around the corridors to explore the public spaces and hidden gardens all around the hotel.

The hotel is particularly well setup for families with young children as it provides a large, safe and comfortable, enclosed environment for toddlers and their siblings to run around in - which is fully insulated from Canberra's miserable weather. With two or more children, the trick is to book adjoining Club rooms - and for maximum space and privacy, ask for the configuration that provides an entry alcove in between the two rooms (rather than just a door).

Although the club rooms are more expensive than standard rooms, (~$500-$600/night for two rooms) they pay back in spades. This is mainly due to their offering access to the pretty club dining room, which effectively allows you to feed the family both breakfast and (feasibly) dinner in a relaxed, kid friendly environment (along with free wine, beer, spirits).

We have been coming here each year since the eldest of our two daughters (now 6) was born and on one trip, the weather was so bad that we barely left the hotel. But on each occasion, we have had a terrific time and always wanted to come back. The key theme is total relaxation and the reassuring knowledge that the kids can run riot and not really get into too much trouble.

Room Tip: Adjoining club rooms for families with a separating entrance alcove
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katoomba_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was hard to judge. Hyatt markets it as a "Park Hyatt" property, and that's why I'd be tempted to give this 3 stars... it's not really worthy of that distinction. Ultimately, it gets a 4 because it's got an excellent location, and a couple of perks that most Hyatts don't have.

Pros:
* Location. It's a beautiful property, surrounded by a wonderful lakefront environ. It's a pleasure to be here.
* Common facility. The art deco design is fantastic... I could look at the hotel's exterior and common areas all day long.
* Parking. Free parking at a Hyatt is as rare as a 'get out of jail free' card. Call me cheap, but I hate that every Hyatt in the world charges for parking, regardless of your status or rate paid. (Ok, technically, parking isn't free. But the hotel is surrounded by free public parking.)

Cons:
* Room condition. From wikipedia research, this seems to have been renovated in 1988. It may have been renovated since then, but there are lots of 'little things' (paint missing, rattling plumbing, sparking outlets, noisy AC units) that hint that a remodel would not be a bad idea. Also, ultra-bright fluorescent lighting in the bathrooms doesn't indicate recent design decisions.
* Park Hyatt claims. Line this hotel up next to Park Hyatt Seoul, Tokyo, Sydney, or Shanghai. Those hotels are 21st-century luxury. This hotel is... really, early 20th-century luxury. Yes, it's nice, but personally, I believe Canberra deserves a modern hotel. Hyatt's customers certainly do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Is a step back in time beautiful foyer
Room was modern, massive bathroom, very comfy bed
Free parking good location short drive into the city or Manuka or there are inhouse eating options although did not try them this visit.
Not cheap but decided to spoil myself so was worth it

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Canberra for a confernce.
In a word the place is 'Great'. Friendly, helpful staff, and rooms that have everything you could want.
The only criticism I would be able to think of is that the place is very spread out. Where many hotels go up, this one goes out and it can be a very long walk to your room, many people that attended the conference got lost trying to find their rooms, some of them on m ore than one occasion. That said better signage is probably all thats needed to fix the problem.
The hotel is well located, and is close to the city and Parliament House, Lake Burley Griffin is a two minute walk and a walk along the footpath around the in the mornings is a great way to start the day.
This is a hotel that gives great service, has great meals, great facilities and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing