We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Canberra Hyatt is one of the best and most unique hotel experiences in Australia. It is also perfectly setup for young children, if you are happy to spend the money.

I read a recent review of the Hyatt that suggested that the hotel was a bit run down and the service staff were all students - and although unfair, there is a grain of truth in this. On our most recent visit, the rooms were musty when the kids gave the curtains a good shake and the televisions should have been replaced years ago. And although the service in general is excellent and friendly, there were some cracks around the edges that you wouldn't expect in a five star hotel - eg the concierge could have been better versed in what was going on around town, such as feature exhibitions at the art gallery etc.

But any weaknesses are fully redeemed by the magnificence of the hotel itself, which has an unique Art Deco ambience and beautiful gardens set in a lovely (and convenient) location near the lake. The rooms are large and quiet and the bathrooms in particular ooze old-style charm. Be sure to also go for a walk around the corridors to explore the public spaces and hidden gardens all around the hotel.

The hotel is particularly well setup for families with young children as it provides a large, safe and comfortable, enclosed environment for toddlers and their siblings to run around in - which is fully insulated from Canberra's miserable weather. With two or more children, the trick is to book adjoining Club rooms - and for maximum space and privacy, ask for the configuration that provides an entry alcove in between the two rooms (rather than just a door).

Although the club rooms are more expensive than standard rooms, (~$500-$600/night for two rooms) they pay back in spades. This is mainly due to their offering access to the pretty club dining room, which effectively allows you to feed the family both breakfast and (feasibly) dinner in a relaxed, kid friendly environment (along with free wine, beer, spirits).

We have been coming here each year since the eldest of our two daughters (now 6) was born and on one trip, the weather was so bad that we barely left the hotel. But on each occasion, we have had a terrific time and always wanted to come back. The key theme is total relaxation and the reassuring knowledge that the kids can run riot and not really get into too much trouble.

Room Tip: Adjoining club rooms for families with a separating entrance alcove
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katoomba_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 2,562 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was hard to judge. Hyatt markets it as a "Park Hyatt" property, and that's why I'd be tempted to give this 3 stars... it's not really worthy of that distinction. Ultimately, it gets a 4 because it's got an excellent location, and a couple of perks that most Hyatts don't have.

Pros:
* Location. It's a beautiful property, surrounded by a wonderful lakefront environ. It's a pleasure to be here.
* Common facility. The art deco design is fantastic... I could look at the hotel's exterior and common areas all day long.
* Parking. Free parking at a Hyatt is as rare as a 'get out of jail free' card. Call me cheap, but I hate that every Hyatt in the world charges for parking, regardless of your status or rate paid. (Ok, technically, parking isn't free. But the hotel is surrounded by free public parking.)

Cons:
* Room condition. From wikipedia research, this seems to have been renovated in 1988. It may have been renovated since then, but there are lots of 'little things' (paint missing, rattling plumbing, sparking outlets, noisy AC units) that hint that a remodel would not be a bad idea. Also, ultra-bright fluorescent lighting in the bathrooms doesn't indicate recent design decisions.
* Park Hyatt claims. Line this hotel up next to Park Hyatt Seoul, Tokyo, Sydney, or Shanghai. Those hotels are 21st-century luxury. This hotel is... really, early 20th-century luxury. Yes, it's nice, but personally, I believe Canberra deserves a modern hotel. Hyatt's customers certainly do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Is a step back in time beautiful foyer
Room was modern, massive bathroom, very comfy bed
Free parking good location short drive into the city or Manuka or there are inhouse eating options although did not try them this visit.
Not cheap but decided to spoil myself so was worth it

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Canberra for a confernce.
In a word the place is 'Great'. Friendly, helpful staff, and rooms that have everything you could want.
The only criticism I would be able to think of is that the place is very spread out. Where many hotels go up, this one goes out and it can be a very long walk to your room, many people that attended the conference got lost trying to find their rooms, some of them on m ore than one occasion. That said better signage is probably all thats needed to fix the problem.
The hotel is well located, and is close to the city and Parliament House, Lake Burley Griffin is a two minute walk and a walk along the footpath around the in the mornings is a great way to start the day.
This is a hotel that gives great service, has great meals, great facilities and great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Simply a great domestic hotel. Can be a bit pricey if you can't muscle a good deal, or book a long way ahead, but it's probably the best full-service hotel in Canberra by far... Great attention to detail, excellent rooms (if in the newer section) and friendly staff showing a level of training you come to expect from a major chain. Have stayed many times before, and will continue to do so when the budget allows.... Well done Hyatt.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section specifically
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncanj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The last word in luxury, we stayed at the Hyatt during a look-see visit prior to moving out to Canberra. The room was utter luxury with the bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms!! Superb gym and sports facilities and ample free parking. The hotel is right on Lake Burley Griffin which is perfect for a morning run (or walk). The food and service were good, although we seemed to have a little confusion when some documents delivered to reception completely disappeared. I think my only gripe about this hotel was that every damn thing had a surcharge. It is not cheap to stay at the Hyatt and nor did I expect it to be, but to have to pay a further extortionate charge for internet access, photocopying, gym access, tennis court, breakfast, rankled with me and spoiled the '5 star' feel. (rather like flying first class and having to pay for your drinks!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited the Hyatt for a few days when performing in an a figure skating comp, and service was very good and there was beautiful scenery. Food was very good, especially room service and I particularly enjoyed the high tea. Great views and family friendly. Also very good for couples. There is a wide selection of food and when you arrive, you are greeted by friendly staff and a beautiful flower garden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,890 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 58 in Canberra
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.0 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $179 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing