We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Simply a great domestic hotel. Can be a bit pricey if you can't muscle a good deal, or book a long way ahead, but it's probably the best full-service hotel in Canberra by far... Great attention to detail, excellent rooms (if in the newer section) and friendly staff showing a level of training you come to expect from a major chain. Have stayed many times before, and will continue to do so when the budget allows.... Well done Hyatt.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section specifically
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncanj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    572
    193
    76
    52
See reviews for
359
998
103
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The last word in luxury, we stayed at the Hyatt during a look-see visit prior to moving out to Canberra. The room was utter luxury with the bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms!! Superb gym and sports facilities and ample free parking. The hotel is right on Lake Burley Griffin which is perfect for a morning run (or walk). The food and service were good, although we seemed to have a little confusion when some documents delivered to reception completely disappeared. I think my only gripe about this hotel was that every damn thing had a surcharge. It is not cheap to stay at the Hyatt and nor did I expect it to be, but to have to pay a further extortionate charge for internet access, photocopying, gym access, tennis court, breakfast, rankled with me and spoiled the '5 star' feel. (rather like flying first class and having to pay for your drinks!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited the Hyatt for a few days when performing in an a figure skating comp, and service was very good and there was beautiful scenery. Food was very good, especially room service and I particularly enjoyed the high tea. Great views and family friendly. Also very good for couples. There is a wide selection of food and when you arrive, you are greeted by friendly staff and a beautiful flower garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hyatt is a stylish art deco Grand hotel near Parliament House which offers very pleasant accommodation in the traditional style. Reasonable rates available for B and B if you stay for 2 nights or more. The rooms and beds are very comfortable with lovely, spacious marble bathrooms.
The buffet breakfast is well above average with good choices and an omelette station where you can order eggs any style - the chef is a whizz. My only complaint was with the service at breakfast on a Sunday morning- they were very busy and I had to ask 4 times and wait 30 minutes to get the coffee I ordered.However, at all other times, the service was mostly excellent as it should be for a 5 star hotel. The high tea is very popular and apparently is booked out a month in advance at weekends, though there is space reserved for in house guests - it looked yummy and truly decadent.
The location is about a 10 minute bus ride from the city centre and buses run frequently. The lake with beautiful walks is at the rear of the property and makes for a stunning way to spend any free time.
The hotel is large so if you prefer a more intimate boutique style hotel, it may not entirely please you - it is possible to get lost in the crowd here especially when they are super busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findarainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed just one night while attending TEDxCanberra in September 2012, so I didn't get to see a lot of the hotel facilities but I can say it is a high-quality establishment. I stayed on a corporate rate and think I got a Club King room which was quite spacious with a King Bed, couch and work table. There were two different types of pillow to make my sleep easier!

The most amazing feature of the room was the sizable bathroom, which features a full-size bath PLUS a large shower with a great shower head. What a treat!

I also had access to wifi (normally costs extra) and I must say that it was the fastest wifi I've ever had in a hotel (even in the USA). Much appreciated!

The only problem we had was parking because a function was taking place in the hotel that took every available parking spot. There was plenty of space the next morning.

Bottom line: High quality, but pricey.

Room Tip: The Club Rooms include access to the Ambassador Lounge, which has food available around the clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

At $400 plus per night you would expect something extra. Nothing from front of counter. No staff to opEn cab doors or concierge service. Checkin was confused and the walk to room downstairs was downright time consuming and confusing as we got lost. Everything else was as you would expect if you paid the price we did..so no extra accolades or service etc. allin all an okay place but seemed more focused on politicians, lobbyists etc than a tourist experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandKaren_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Canberra Hyatt so much that we actually extended by two days. It's extremely well located, just a short walk from the lake and also from the museums (if you have kids, the Questacon is not to be missed). Hotel staff were all courteous, helpful, and welcoming. The breakfast was varied and delicious, and we loved our huge and comfortable room. Great pillows, comfy duvets, and one of the best showers we've ever had in a hotel. It's pricey, but that's to be expected, and we felt that we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing