We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$154
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abode Hotel Woden(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$134
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$155
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$82
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
University House(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$109
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,722)
Filter reviews
2,723 results
Traveler rating
1,683
665
224
82
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,683
665
224
82
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaambassador loungepromenade cafeclub roomseafood buffetart decobeautiful hotelfive star hotelparliament houseold world charmlake burley griffinking roomrooms are largenational librarystandard roomwar memorialluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,529 - 2,534 of 2,723 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Visited Canberra for what was supposed to be an overnight stay but ended up being grounded due to volcanic ash cloud. The staff were very helpful and organised a room for me for the second night. Yes I had to move room and yes it was more expensive that the first night but I completely understand. Some of my colleagues had to go to other places in Canberra to stay and some had to drive to nearby towns. I was very appreciative of the staff looking after me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Canberra is often criticised for being a bit sterile and soul-less, but the Hyatt goes some way to injecting a bit of character back into this sometimes stiff city.

This was my first stay at the Hyatt, so I was busy peering into all the corners. The flat, low-rise layout is in keeping with the early government buildings it was designed to serve. Built in the mid 1920s, it served politicians until 1950 and then went private, but fell into troubles until it was properly restored and relaunched by Hyatt in 1988. It has a bit of a museum feel to it and there are plenty of pictures, photos and interpretive panels to describe the hotel and its salubrious guests.

My room was palatial in size and nicely turned out with quality fittings. We dined in a private room which was nice, but it didn't have any of the outlook which would have enhanced that experience. Having a drink outside in the courtyard is pleasant and the breakfast buffet is all good too although the Promenade Café is a bit tight and I got lots of dirty looks when I was doing my Julia Gillard impersonations, so keep private chat down.

Didn't use or inspect the Clubhouse spa and gym.

Room Tip: Can be a bit of a walk, so get a room close to reception if needed.
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

we have stayed at the Hyatt in Canberra dozens of time over the years, and our last visit was as enjoyable as ever. We stayed in a Club Deluxe room, which was fine, but a little bit stark, as others have commented. The club is a great place for a drink and nibblies with a great wine selection and a good breakfast. The food offerings do seem to have moved a bit down market since our last visit, with party pies the hot offering at night, and supermarket yoghurts replacing the artisan yoghurts they used to have. I would like to see the club, and the hotel, promoting local produce as the area has an abundance of artisan wine makers and food producers. Service was unfailingly polite, responsive and helpful. Will always stay at the Hyatt when visiting Canberra.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stay here regularly and it is always consistently good.

We stayed in deluxe club room this time. It was large, a bit sparse (could have had more furniture for the size of the room. I really felt that it wasn't that different to a normal club room.

Staff are usually of a high standard in this hotel and it was the same during this stay. Food was good, not fabulous, but good. Atmosphere is always relaxing and calm. Always a nice feel in the hotel. Location is perfect.

The one thing missing in this hotel is a great spa with treatments (facials/proper massages), which I have always thought would work quite well. The gym is quite good for a hotel, but the massages are pretty ordinary and the environment that they are in is very ordinary, a makeshift room off the entrance to the gym which is very noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Destinationdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Older building (for Canberra) beautifully restored and maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the most outstanding aspect of this understated hotel is the staff. To a person, they are friendly, polite, helpful - but not in any false way. Impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews