We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“another fantastic stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

As usual, this was another memorable stay out of my stressed hours at Canberra. This is without a doubt my number one hotel in the region. It could be little expensive to some people but it worth every cent. The price includes breakfast. The Hotel is little far from the city centre but walking distance to parliament house, many government offices, museums and the famous lake Griffith. This could be the best choice for the family who are on holiday in Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill11198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    592
    201
    76
    52
See reviews for
375
1,032
104
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is a great hotel that fully lives up to the Hyatt name. The entrance lobby is great (and huge!), check-in smooth. When we eventually found our room (it's a very large area, mostly on one floor), we thought it was excellent. The rooms are very large, bathroom luxurious and huge.... and the bed - if you just want to go to sleep for the whole weekend, then go to the Hyatt!! My only criticism of the hotel is the bar, which is small and is hard to get a seat - all that space, and so little of it given to a place where people would sit and spend money.

The hotel is well located - close to Parliament House and most of the museums (walking distance), such as the National Gallery which was superb. If you like pubs, go to the Wig and Pen - great pub that brew it's own beer and whilst a bit studenty, they seem like a good class of student! Manuka (about ten mins drive) is a great place for breakfast, Cream is a good, fun lively restaurant and there is a funky bar right opposite that I can't remember the name of - wouldn't look out of place in Sydney or London.

Overall, very good - would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel is nice enough but it is isolated. It is a very long walk or pricey cab ride to and from anything at all. Our room at the back over the road and motor-coach porch was constantly barraged with noise from people, cars, and busses.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleJt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Great hotel but very much felt it was much more business than pleasure - I have stayed in much better places for much less money!
Little home comforts were missing (such as DVD player, espresso machine, spa bath plus the tv was tiny) which I think you would expect for $450 a night!!!
My room didn’t get re-stocked (toiletries, shower gel, water, tea bags, milk) either and I had to keep asking for more. Also I have a hearing problem and was told I couldn’t have subtitles on the tv?!?
The Clubhouse is trying to be a proper gym therefore it is not relaxing or luxurious in any way plus the chlorine stench in the pool was unbearable!
The Ambassador lounge was equally not homely and comfortable... All that said it is a lovely place, the jazz and BBQ Friday night were great and very reasonable prices, the cocktails were delicious and the afternoon tea looked great!
I would only probably return if someone else was paying - I like to get a little more luxury for that kind of money!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaline_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We are locals and stayed for a night while we were having work done on our house. The hotel is one of the few heritage buildings in Canberra, and has a lovely ambiance (art deco style). The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts are great (many Canberrans go to the Hyatt for the buffet breakfast and dinners, as well as the afternoon tea's on weekends). It also has a nice pool and fitness area, whcih is open for reasonable hours. The hotel is probably 2km walking distance to the city and any other restaurants, so it is not as well located as other hotels (such as the Novotel). But it is right by the lake, which is lovely to walk around. We also recently stayed at the Realm Hotel in Barton. It was quite a step down from the Hyatt, despite them both being ranked 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gebw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,277 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Business took me to Canberra in February, 2011, and I stayed at the Hyatt. Overall, it is a lovely property.

Upsides:
--The rooms are very large, with room for sitting, a very comfortable bed, good lighting, MASSIVE marble bathrooms with separate tub/shower, and a good working area.
--The hotel's grounds are beautiful, and the building itself is quite lovely, with large atrium spaces, gardens, many different sitting areas, etc.
--The fitness center is quite nice. You can also rent bikes (complimentary) from the fitness center and use these to access 22km of biking trails immediately next to the hotel that wind their way by Lake Burley-Griffin, around which many of the capital's buildings are arrayed.
--The location is convenient to most of the major governmental institutions, etc.
--Staff service was always very nice, particularly at the concierge desk. There were all of the touches you'd expect from a 5-star property, from nightly turn-down service to classy in-room touches like very nice fabric laundry bags, very nice robes, slippers, etc.
--The hotel is quite historic, and there are some interesting history displays around the property.

Downsides:
--The rooms, while lovely, could use a facelift. My carpet had some stains, and the decor, while pleasant, was a bit dated.
--It's very expensive. The room rate was quite high, and the hotel has other high charges -- food is expensive, you pay to use the business center, etc. I didn't necessarily feel nickeled-and-dimed, but one should expect (at least when parliament is in session, as it was during my visit) a hefty bill!
--I thought the restaurant, at which I had one breakfast and one dinner, was average (particularly considering its very high cost). This is the only place in the hotel where the service faltered -- while the wait staff was unfailingly polite, service was very slow and often missed details, such as providing the necessary utensils for a given course.

All in all, this was a nice visit, and the property is lovely. Although I would look at other options upon returning to Canberra, I also certainly wouldn't hesitate to return to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Whenever we visit Canberra we like to stay at this hotel. The staff are always (well 99% of the time) friendly without being unctious, professional and informative. The facilities are good and the ambience is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing