We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it each time. Very comfortable rooms, nicely furnished with a good bathroom. Good value, friendly staff and easy access to parking. A nice quiet area and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 783 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Opted for a mystery deal with Wotif and ended up with the Diplomat. Read some of the reviews and was a little concerned but to my relief I discovered it was perfect. I find some hotels pretentious and a little stuffy and I never feel really comfortable but not the Diplomat. From the minute we walked in the door we felt at home, everybody was really friendly. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and on the Saturday we went looking for a restaurant for dinner in Manuka. We went back to the hotel to change for dinner and decided to have a drink at the bar. My partner requested the menu to see what was on for dinner and to our surprise it looked amazing and cheaper than Manuka so we decided to eat at the Hotel. The food was fantastic and the service amazing. So thank you Fiona (Food and Beverage Manager) you made our stay so much better than we had anticipated. You are an asset to the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again when next we visit Canberra.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel possibly dates from the 90's. It is large and spacious, being built around a large atrium which houses the dining area, a large bar and a conference room. The rooms are sizeable and the wi-fi and video systems are state of the art. Our room was clean, the towels were good quality,and the bed was very comfortable. Weekends seem to be a quiet time as most guests during the week stay while on business. We only met one member of staff, the receptionist, who was friendly and helpful. We asked for a quiet room, but perhaps this is not achievable when the hotel is situated at the junction of four major roads, and the windows are only single-glazed. We simply set the aircon on high to provide a soothing white-noise background. We had a Mystery Weekend stay" special - and it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisKenyon136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi there ChrisKenyon136,

Thank you for your in depth review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay but am even more pleased to be able to report that more changes are planned for the hotel in the coming year which should resolve some of the areas of weakness you mentioned.

Thank you once again and I hope to see you here again!

All The Best

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Camme for the Gold of the Incas exhibition and stayed overnight on a Friday. Hotel was pretty quiet on the night. Room are spacious but decor is a bit outdated 1970/80s. Breakfast was good. Did not try the bar. hotel is a bit out of the city centre. Would rate it as OK for the money but nothing special. Close to Kinsgston markets on the Weekend.

Room Tip: Somw websites give a room upgrade if accomodation is prepaid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi There Murray S,

Thank you for reviewing your experience of our hotel. A new company took over the property back in August and I am pleased to say that a number of improvements have already been made with more planned for 2014. I am confident that these will combat the areas of improvement that you mentioned.

I hope to see you here again soon so that we can improve on that score!

All the Best

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have used this before, it is cosy without being spectacular. Breakfast looked interesting but we had other plans. Parking was easy as was access and location good. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Joseph Z,

Thank you for your positive feedback, although it would be great to see a higher score after your next stay. If there is anything you feel we can do to achieve this, please feel free to send us an email.

All The Best

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My Husband and I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Diplomat Hotel Canberra to visit family and friends.
The rooms were spotless and quiet, the staff friendly and extremely helpful - especially Robert on reception. The breakfasts were good quality and variety and staff happy to oblige with requests for poached eggs etc. The décor was of the 80's but well maintained.
Location was 5 star. Unbelievable value compared to the price of other hotels in Canberra

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our group of family and friends stayed two nights for a wedding in Canberra and chose the Diplomat for its location and standard.
The reception staff were very cheerful and friendly, but our group's favourite was the lady who seemed to run the bar and restaurant. A prodigious memory, Kiwi accent/sense of humour, and helpful nature lifted our stay above what was expected.
The classic style of the hotel is augmented by rooms with modern appointments, lovely bedding and a quiet setting (or is that just normal for Canberra at night?).
We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant easily satisfying the diverse dietary preferences of our group. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee-Dee-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi there Geoff,

Thank you for the positive and glowing review of the hotel and our Restaurant manager, Fiona.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us and will be sure to pass your feedback along to the team

All The Best

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 60 in Canberra
1,961 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 60 in Canberra
1,616 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 60 in Canberra
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#15 of 60 in Canberra
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Boutique Hotel

Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $116 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from the eating hubs of Griffith, Kingston and Manuka, is this boutique hotel experience. The Diplomat Hotel offers visitors to Canberra a range of rooms, suites, dining and conference facilities with excellent bike, car or bus access to the many splendours of the Parliamentary Triangle. If bespoke touches like bike hire, a book depository, pillow room, App loaded SMART TVs and free WiFi take your fancy, we’ll see you at the Diplomat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing