We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, short, stay”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good, short, stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a one night stay; got an upgrade to a superior room. The room was in good condition, plenty of space and the bed was comfortable.
Undercover parking was free - a big bonus anywhere these days.
It is a bit of a walk to either Manuka or Dickson restaurants but that is no big deal.
Overall, good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patfshepparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    293
    111
    27
    10
See reviews for
153
197
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, rooms are large, beds are very comfortable, shower over bath which is very narrow. The air con in our room was not heating so we advised reception, young man was extremely helpful, bringing us a portable heater, it was fixed the following day only to stop heating on the third day. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, waitress was excellent, food was very enjoyable although not a big choice, there were only three red wines to choose from but our waitress produced a bottle of Mad Fish that was most acceptable. We asked for a cheese platter to take back to our room, this was as described on the menu and very good. We ate in the restaurant again on our third night and chose the rib eye beef with red wine jus, my husbands asked if we could have some mustard, our waitress returned to ask which mustard and we chose Dijon, at this, she informed us that it would be an EXTRA $2.00. I have to say I was gobsmacked by this and said we would cancel our order and go elsewhere, it wasn't the money but the principal. She was a nice young girl and pleaded with us to stay, which we did. We are in or seventies and never before in our extensive travels has his occurred. When the bill came they had not added the $2.00 Once again we had the cheese platter, but it was not as described - no dried fruits no quince paste, replaced by some strawberries. The only thing that would make us recommend this Hotel is the beds.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Outback42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel from the outside, very pleasant reception staff. That's where it stopped. Room was dated. Bathroom got wet very quick and to use up the towels to dry the floor! Ironing board needs a new cover. Bed was uncomfortable. Stayed in rom 1009 next to staff store rooms, they let their door bang and bang and bang all evening. Dinner choice limited but very tasty. Next morning at breakfast, the bar area hadn't been cleaned from the night before. No staff to greet at breakfast. When eventually got seated, no coffee, no milk, no orange juice, limited hot breakfast, no tea spoons, and the beans where mixed with the scrambled eggs! I am allergic to eggs. When checking out mentioned the coaster zone in the breakfast area.. Pleasant smile, but no discount offered on the cost of the breakfast. The disaster was explained because a large group had beat us to the food. Will not be back unless a major uplift and increase in number of staff. We will be in canberra every second weekend for the rest of the year. Any suggestions where we should go?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

spent 5 nights at the diplomat and was very impressed. Booked a queen deluxe room which was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. The location is ideal, great eating venues in easy walking distance from the hotel. Very good value for money would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked over 21 days in advance so the price was very reasonable and although the room was a little dated it was comfortable and the staff were very friendly. No complaints overall and would stay there again. It is located near the more expensive areas of Kingston and Manuka, a short drive away where you can find lots of good places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spend the night at the Diplomat when on a business trip. The hotel was closely located to the area I needed to be in and I found this very good, but the hotel was dated. It was showing signs of age with stained carpets, a very small TV, dated soft furnishings, scuff marks etc. I found the bed very comfortable in my room.

The staff I found very friendly and helpful and although I didn't get the chance to eat in the restaurant, it was nicely set out and looked very nice. The hotel had parking that was very spacious and over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall and rooms are looking a little tired. The hotel strengths are that it is in a good central location and had good customer service. I was also able to have breakfast and check out quickly which was convenient.

The gym is very dated with limited equipment of a bike, weights station and stepper and one set of 5kg dumbells. There is also a sauna and pool that I did not use. The gym could also do with a good clean with the floor mat a bit dirty.

The room (king suite) was spacious but is looking a bit dated and needs a refurbishment. The bed was overall was modern the bathroom had a good shower but some elements were not thoroughly cleaned such as the remote control that had visible grime.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nel22Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel changed hands in August, allowing us the opportunity to revive and update departmental procedures. There are also a number of other improvements on the way including in the gym area.

These changes will take some time to implement but I hope that you will try the hotel again and report back to the Tripadvisor community on the outcome of your next stay.

All the best


Rowland Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing