We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To see a footy game” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To see a footy game”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel from the outside, very pleasant reception staff. That's where it stopped. Room was dated. Bathroom got wet very quick and to use up the towels to dry the floor! Ironing board needs a new cover. Bed was uncomfortable. Stayed in rom 1009 next to staff store rooms, they let their door bang and bang and bang all evening. Dinner choice limited but very tasty. Next morning at breakfast, the bar area hadn't been cleaned from the night before. No staff to greet at breakfast. When eventually got seated, no coffee, no milk, no orange juice, limited hot breakfast, no tea spoons, and the beans where mixed with the scrambled eggs! I am allergic to eggs. When checking out mentioned the coaster zone in the breakfast area.. Pleasant smile, but no discount offered on the cost of the breakfast. The disaster was explained because a large group had beat us to the food. Will not be back unless a major uplift and increase in number of staff. We will be in canberra every second weekend for the rest of the year. Any suggestions where we should go?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    253
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
131
180
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

spent 5 nights at the diplomat and was very impressed. Booked a queen deluxe room which was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. The location is ideal, great eating venues in easy walking distance from the hotel. Very good value for money would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked over 21 days in advance so the price was very reasonable and although the room was a little dated it was comfortable and the staff were very friendly. No complaints overall and would stay there again. It is located near the more expensive areas of Kingston and Manuka, a short drive away where you can find lots of good places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spend the night at the Diplomat when on a business trip. The hotel was closely located to the area I needed to be in and I found this very good, but the hotel was dated. It was showing signs of age with stained carpets, a very small TV, dated soft furnishings, scuff marks etc. I found the bed very comfortable in my room.

The staff I found very friendly and helpful and although I didn't get the chance to eat in the restaurant, it was nicely set out and looked very nice. The hotel had parking that was very spacious and over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall and rooms are looking a little tired. The hotel strengths are that it is in a good central location and had good customer service. I was also able to have breakfast and check out quickly which was convenient.

The gym is very dated with limited equipment of a bike, weights station and stepper and one set of 5kg dumbells. There is also a sauna and pool that I did not use. The gym could also do with a good clean with the floor mat a bit dirty.

The room (king suite) was spacious but is looking a bit dated and needs a refurbishment. The bed was overall was modern the bathroom had a good shower but some elements were not thoroughly cleaned such as the remote control that had visible grime.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nel22Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel changed hands in August, allowing us the opportunity to revive and update departmental procedures. There are also a number of other improvements on the way including in the gym area.

These changes will take some time to implement but I hope that you will try the hotel again and report back to the Tripadvisor community on the outcome of your next stay.

All the best


Rowland Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work interim. I had room 1010 on the ground floor.

The Room: Was a good size & had most of the mod cons, air conditioning unit was older than Ben hur however it worked & although the vibration noise was quite apparent it was fine, noise actually helps me sleep. Bed was good no complaints, bathroom was quaint and the shower needed a screen or something as it was tricky not getting water everywhere.

The Service: Great service! Eddy at reception & I think Lyn? From the bar were impeccable! Ask for a MaiTai for a laugh, good cocktails here.

Didn't get to see the pool(outside) or gym but heard others speaking highly of them.

My concern was that upon arrival I found one of the in room 600ml waters had been drunk with red lipstick all over the top. Clearly the person prior to my stay had drunk the water or possibly house keeping had left it there while cleaning? Who knows the point being I was then concerned that my room may possibly not have been made up?? I further searched around to hopefully dismiss this idea to find the mini bar not fully stocked with the items on the list, I quickly rang reception to make them aware and was assured I would revive no charge for the mistake & offered a replenished mini bar. After checking out the rest of the room I found the kitchenette to be the only un-made element. The bed was clean & made, toilet paper folded, towels & linen clean and stored.

Thanks diplomat, I would certainly return again next tone in canberra, if only for the MaiTai's! Good work

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheer-Devinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHELLHARBOUR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the Motel was claen and friendly. Easy to find and a good location.The food in the restuarant was great. Staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was missing eggs for quite a while which wasnt great. The bed had a major sag on either side which wasnt he best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXOZ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing