We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Dated, but Still Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bit Dated, but Still Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spend the night at the Diplomat when on a business trip. The hotel was closely located to the area I needed to be in and I found this very good, but the hotel was dated. It was showing signs of age with stained carpets, a very small TV, dated soft furnishings, scuff marks etc. I found the bed very comfortable in my room.

The staff I found very friendly and helpful and although I didn't get the chance to eat in the restaurant, it was nicely set out and looked very nice. The hotel had parking that was very spacious and over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    253
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
131
181
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall and rooms are looking a little tired. The hotel strengths are that it is in a good central location and had good customer service. I was also able to have breakfast and check out quickly which was convenient.

The gym is very dated with limited equipment of a bike, weights station and stepper and one set of 5kg dumbells. There is also a sauna and pool that I did not use. The gym could also do with a good clean with the floor mat a bit dirty.

The room (king suite) was spacious but is looking a bit dated and needs a refurbishment. The bed was overall was modern the bathroom had a good shower but some elements were not thoroughly cleaned such as the remote control that had visible grime.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nel22Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel changed hands in August, allowing us the opportunity to revive and update departmental procedures. There are also a number of other improvements on the way including in the gym area.

These changes will take some time to implement but I hope that you will try the hotel again and report back to the Tripadvisor community on the outcome of your next stay.

All the best


Rowland Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work interim. I had room 1010 on the ground floor.

The Room: Was a good size & had most of the mod cons, air conditioning unit was older than Ben hur however it worked & although the vibration noise was quite apparent it was fine, noise actually helps me sleep. Bed was good no complaints, bathroom was quaint and the shower needed a screen or something as it was tricky not getting water everywhere.

The Service: Great service! Eddy at reception & I think Lyn? From the bar were impeccable! Ask for a MaiTai for a laugh, good cocktails here.

Didn't get to see the pool(outside) or gym but heard others speaking highly of them.

My concern was that upon arrival I found one of the in room 600ml waters had been drunk with red lipstick all over the top. Clearly the person prior to my stay had drunk the water or possibly house keeping had left it there while cleaning? Who knows the point being I was then concerned that my room may possibly not have been made up?? I further searched around to hopefully dismiss this idea to find the mini bar not fully stocked with the items on the list, I quickly rang reception to make them aware and was assured I would revive no charge for the mistake & offered a replenished mini bar. After checking out the rest of the room I found the kitchenette to be the only un-made element. The bed was clean & made, toilet paper folded, towels & linen clean and stored.

Thanks diplomat, I would certainly return again next tone in canberra, if only for the MaiTai's! Good work

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheer-Devinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHELLHARBOUR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the Motel was claen and friendly. Easy to find and a good location.The food in the restuarant was great. Staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was missing eggs for quite a while which wasnt great. The bed had a major sag on either side which wasnt he best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXOZ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I do a fair bit of business travel and the things that sound like luxuries quickly become essential. Like food, and Internet access and a gym. The Diplomat claims all three, but only on their terms.

Arriving at 10pm there were no food options except the local Pizza Hut - pass. The free wireless access worked fine - if I leant against the door and the gym didn't open until 8. 8! I'm supposed to be kicking but and taking names by 8:30.

There was a huge queue for taxis as it is near nothing and the whole place feels very "formerly great hotel".

In a city full of great accommodation options find something else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marrickvillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Each time we visit Canberra, we try to stay here. We love the "smallness" of the property, and also the feeling of "spaciousness" because of the beautiful Atrium. The efficient staff and undercover parking are also a bonus. However, this time a slight mixup with our reservation and the tired appearance of the Hotel , had us wondering. However, our reservation was quickly sorted, thanks to a relieving receptionist called Lilli, who was a real charmer. Our room, whilst comfortable and very clean, really needed refurbishment. We ate in the restaurant one night, and found the food pretty good, although a limited menu. We would stay here again, although do hope the rooms have been upgraded.

Room Tip: Upper rooms get the benefit of less pedestrian traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel recently changed hands and I am pleased to say that we have a number of improvements scheduled.

I hope you will take the opportunity to stop by when you next visit the city.

Regards


Rowland Fischer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

this hotel has clean rooms, but not very many facilities.
overall it looks rather old and tired, and the bar area is kind of depressing.
the position is a bit far from Manuka and Kingston (about 15 minute walk).
OK value for money - but generally it is just OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel has recently changed hands and is now scheduled for a number of improvements.

I hope you will take the opportunity to stop by on your next visit to the ACT

Regards


Rowland Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing