We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$154
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$123
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$101
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$102
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
239
392
143
35
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
392
143
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsundercover parkingfree wifikingston foreshorebit datedthe ground floorwould stay here againcomfortable bedsroom was largeshort drivestayed for nightsgood sizemanuka shopsplenty of parkingquiet locationbusiness tripbuffet breakfastmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 824 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Each time we visit Canberra, we try to stay here. We love the "smallness" of the property, and also the feeling of "spaciousness" because of the beautiful Atrium. The efficient staff and undercover parking are also a bonus. However, this time a slight mixup with our reservation and the tired appearance of the Hotel , had us wondering. However, our reservation was quickly sorted, thanks to a relieving receptionist called Lilli, who was a real charmer. Our room, whilst comfortable and very clean, really needed refurbishment. We ate in the restaurant one night, and found the food pretty good, although a limited menu. We would stay here again, although do hope the rooms have been upgraded.

Room Tip: Upper rooms get the benefit of less pedestrian traffic.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hello and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel recently changed hands and I am pleased to say that we have a number of improvements scheduled.

I hope you will take the opportunity to stop by when you next visit the city.

Regards


Rowland Fischer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

this hotel has clean rooms, but not very many facilities.
overall it looks rather old and tired, and the bar area is kind of depressing.
the position is a bit far from Manuka and Kingston (about 15 minute walk).
OK value for money - but generally it is just OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel has recently changed hands and is now scheduled for a number of improvements.

I hope you will take the opportunity to stop by on your next visit to the ACT

Regards


Rowland Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel before looking at Trip Adviser. After reading the terrible and bad comments, I was getting a bit worried. On arrival we were pleasantly suprised, the room was large, bathroom clean, tea and coffee available in the room. Queen size bed with crisp sheets, although it did sag slightly in the middle.

Outdoor pool is really a backyard pool, but would offer some respite to the Canberra summer.

We didn't eat here, so can't comment on the food. Huge atrium where you can sit and read, but can't get a real coffee or a drink from the bar until after 5.00pm.

But other than that, we found it okay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammoWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in in October 2012 for 2 nights
comfortable room
great having undercover parking
friendly staff
had a ground floor room that opened straight into the restaurant and bar - a bit noisy until midnight which was annoying
would stay here again

Room Tip: go up away from the bar
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The seniority of this elegant hotel is characterized by the magnificent atrium, from which all the rooms radiate.
A small negative is the poor bathroom extraction system, and the obvious retrofitting of the televisions. You don't go away to watch television, do you ?.
Inclusive undercover parking is an absolute plus, as is the excellent service,dinner not quite so.
Very handy for a visitor to access the Galleries, the High Court and the Glassworks, without the battle with Canberra's nonsensical road system.
Also, of course, the eating spots of Manuka.
Not our first trip, and will go again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest a De Luxe room, the additional tariff well offset by early booking.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews