We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Wollongong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel before looking at Trip Adviser. After reading the terrible and bad comments, I was getting a bit worried. On arrival we were pleasantly suprised, the room was large, bathroom clean, tea and coffee available in the room. Queen size bed with crisp sheets, although it did sag slightly in the middle.

Outdoor pool is really a backyard pool, but would offer some respite to the Canberra summer.

We didn't eat here, so can't comment on the food. Huge atrium where you can sit and read, but can't get a real coffee or a drink from the bar until after 5.00pm.

But other than that, we found it okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammoWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    199
    85
    23
    10
See reviews for
90
146
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in in October 2012 for 2 nights
comfortable room
great having undercover parking
friendly staff
had a ground floor room that opened straight into the restaurant and bar - a bit noisy until midnight which was annoying
would stay here again

Room Tip: go up away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The seniority of this elegant hotel is characterized by the magnificent atrium, from which all the rooms radiate.
A small negative is the poor bathroom extraction system, and the obvious retrofitting of the televisions. You don't go away to watch television, do you ?.
Inclusive undercover parking is an absolute plus, as is the excellent service,dinner not quite so.
Very handy for a visitor to access the Galleries, the High Court and the Glassworks, without the battle with Canberra's nonsensical road system.
Also, of course, the eating spots of Manuka.
Not our first trip, and will go again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest a De Luxe room, the additional tariff well offset by early booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

the simplicity of the hotel, yet its old fashioned elegance is stunning... very comfortable, quiet and spacious room enough if you have kids...and they like the "yummy-licious steak" for dinner...and want more. though the pool is not that sophisticated, its comfortable and relaxing...the kids love the water and have fun...the staff were really approachable, accommodating, client-friendly, sincere, kid-patient and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhidha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I travel regularly to Canberra from Sydney to visit our grandson who is a boarder at Canberra Grammer School.

It is a convenient location for us but more importantly, there is friendly and professional staff, very well presented and clean rooms and adequate parking.

We had one instance early on Saturday morning(6.15am) where someone came knocking or banging on our door looking for someone who it happens was in the room next door. This is the only issue I would offer for consideration.

I would certainly recommend the Diplomat to anyone wishing to spend time in Canberra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I found the hotel room to be spacious and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with heavy linens. The shower was excellent! Yes, the hotel is a little dated, and dinner was ordinary, but the staff are welcoming and friendly, and it is a quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeeh040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel feels like a throwback to the 1980s, with its low-tech key system and decor. It also feels like it's out of time with unmodern features such as friendly staff and a generally relaxed pace. There is a small gym and sauna in the hotel. Breakfasts are a bit stodgy, but where else can you go that's close to the hotel? A small book exchange is also in the lobby. Swap out your paperbacks! There is also a free Internet PC.

I found that my room was not serviced on my first night. I put a sign on the door and it was done th next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
7.0 mi away
Premier Hotel & Apartment
Premier Hotel & Apartment
#27 of 59 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#13 of 59 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#5 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#4 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#18 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diplomat Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing