We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$173
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
239
392
143
35
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
392
143
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsundercover parkingfree wifikingston foreshorebit datedthe ground floorwould stay here againcomfortable bedsroom was largeshort drivestayed for nightsgood sizemanuka shopsplenty of parkingquiet locationbusiness tripbuffet breakfastmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 824 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I found the hotel room to be spacious and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with heavy linens. The shower was excellent! Yes, the hotel is a little dated, and dinner was ordinary, but the staff are welcoming and friendly, and it is a quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeeh040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel feels like a throwback to the 1980s, with its low-tech key system and decor. It also feels like it's out of time with unmodern features such as friendly staff and a generally relaxed pace. There is a small gym and sauna in the hotel. Breakfasts are a bit stodgy, but where else can you go that's close to the hotel? A small book exchange is also in the lobby. Swap out your paperbacks! There is also a free Internet PC.

I found that my room was not serviced on my first night. I put a sign on the door and it was done th next day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is a little from the center of town however its easy to get to, there was plenty of parking which was great and it didn't cost any extra. They had free WiFi (a little slow though)
Stayed in a double queen room with 2 kids and it was plenty big enough.
One criticism, the shower was very slippery and one of our kids fell over in it.
Overall it was a good place to stay. Comfortable beds and good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose one up a level, may take away some of the noise from the bar thats right at your door.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Overall nice hotel but thought pricey for room type therefore had to rate as average. Why are all hotels in Canberra so expensive for what you get especially on weekends when no one in town. Would prefer a good motel for lesser cost. Staff very pleasant, did not eat there so cannot comment , would recommend for location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My 12 year old son and I went to Canberra for a long weekend and this hotel was one of the highlights.

My son particularly enjoyed the boutique feel of the hotel and I liked the fact that the price was right and we were able to get a queen room with an additional single bed. This is the fourth hotel I'm used in Canberra and I think it will be the one I continue to use from now on.

Room Tip: We picked a queen and single room and this was on the third floor, nice a quite
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Waters-B1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews