We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the money”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value for the money”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this place for a 'cheap n cheerful' weekend in Canberra. We found the service both at reception and at the bar to be superb. There was a small fault with the room heating which was swiftly rectified. The room was of adequate size all in all we were happy with our stay and would come back again. It is not flash, but was also not in a 'flashy' price range.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipngoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    307
    116
    29
    11
See reviews for
167
205
49
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong NSW
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well how sad and tired this place has become!
Many years ago it was definitely the place to stay, with a nice casual, yet professional buzz to it!
Now it is old, tired and the carpets stained.
The bathrooms are tiny with nothing upgraded in them in 10 years!
The breakfast Buffet was AVERAGE at best, as was my room service meal. In fact the best thing I ate here was the cheese and cracker plate...all out of boxes and wrap...not cooked in house!
The beds were comfortable but the rooms ruined by the stained green carpets.
The staff were wonderful and very friendly, only let down by the tired old environment.
Under cover car parking was good to have in the Canberra Winter!
For $200 a night I felt ripped off!
Morning were very noisy as the noise from down stairs echos throughout the Atrium!

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room. maybe the others are of better quality, but obviously more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliCWollongongNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The best word to describe this hotel is 'faded'. The furniture is old, the carpet is stained, threadbare and like a bad 80s brown suit!!

The only redeeming features are that the rooms are large, parking is complimentary and Gary on reception is friendly.

I paid 259 for a Standard Room expecting something on par with that price category!! Wrong!!

Avoid like the plague

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WanderingCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place has to be better value than the surrounding hotels. The staff were friendly, the room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. I guess some of the rooms could get loud because of the bar but we would definitley stay here again,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 619mlg619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The interior of this hotel feels a little bit like the Hilton circa 1982, but don't let that out you off. It's exceptionally good value. The beds are comfortable, far more so than I've had in more expensive hotels, and the staff are friendly and helpful. My ground floor room was a little noisy, but other guests told me that upper floor rooms do not have this problem. I didn't visit the Pillow Room, as my room already had six rather diverse pillows. Finally, it has one of the rarest of things for an Australian hotel -- free WiFi. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A very nice, flash hotel. It feels like you are almost staying in a 5 star place.
The staff are all very friendly. Not once did we encounter anyone who was not making a real effort to be hospitable.
Happy hour at the bar between 5 and 6pm. The two rooms we stayed in were both quiet and peaceful. Even though the top floor has small balconies, there are not really any views to be had.

The location is quite good for central Canberra but you will need a car.

The internet service was great. No limits and fast speed.

Free fruit bowl in the foyer and good car-parking under the building.

Prices vary quite a lot depending on the day you stay so be aware of that i.e. it is one of those places that can be great value on some days and a bit expensive on others.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have a small balcony which can be nice to walk out on to for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fran1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Diplomat is a well located, reasonably priced and comfortable hotel but its greatest asset is certainly the high standard of customer service. Nothing is too much trouble for friendly Eddy and staff. The surroundings and facilities are adequate but we would recommend this hotel on the basis of the employees who clearly take pride in what they do. The rooms are not totally soundproof but we actually enjoyed hearing the hotel 'wake up' for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,672 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,078 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing