We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, old hotel - not very nice”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed December 18, 2009

This hotel wasn't terrible, but only because the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The rest of the hotel is horrible and should be knocked down. Breakfast was terrible: cutlery, plates and glasses were not clean and there was little selection. Also this hotel isn't convenient at all. In summary I would say this hotel typifies all of Canberra, dated, overpriced, and very poor value for money. Having said this I've spent a lot of time in Canberra and haven't found any hotel better value, and several places worse value. I wouldn't stay here again but know I will have as much trouble finding something good next time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OLIMS, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2009

Dear MrMatthew

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I was most dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel is constantly upgrading the facilities and rooms and recently have completed new carpeting in all the hotel rooms. The heritage wing has recently undergone a $1.5m refurbishment and we are all very pleased with the result. I will raise the issue of breakfast with the F&B manager and ensure that we are providing the service and quality that is expected. Once again thank you for passing on your feedback and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Olims in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

This is my second review as this has been my second stay at the hotel.

After debating whether to stay in Canberra for an extra day I chose to stay overnight at the Olims Hotel as the price was right even though I did book it almost at last minute.

Again the service and staff when checking in (even though it was busy) and out was excellent. My room was spotless (IE: clean) and quite even though it was located next to the Ainslie Ave and not far from the intersection of Limestone Ave.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This used to be a great hotel, but that time has long since passed. We arrived, even had a reservation number but they could not find our reservation. We did not have to worry, they still had rooms available, but the staff acted like it could not possibly be their fault and we had to be happy that they still had a room. Even though I had a reservation number in my hand, I was to blame. Typical. We stayed in one of their loft rooms, and even though it was clean, it was never renovated. The only new thing placed in the room was the nice tv, but everything else looked outdated. Even the nice garden in the courtyard had seen better days. We thought Canberra was boring and sadly Olims could not lift our spirits. I think it must be possible to find better hotels in the Canberra Area.
On the plus side, the location(to the boring towncentre) was good and the breakfast was satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed 1 night as part of a stopover. I wanted to be close to the city centre as I knew parking would be difficult in the city. The Olims is at the far end of Ainslie Ave so walking to the city centre was not an option anyway.

I checked in the late afternoon and was not advised that breakfast was included. I had to call the reception to find out what time and how to get to the breakfast room.

The room was quite pleasant with a flat screen TV that needed 2 remote controls to work. Note the volume control is on the 1st remote control and I think my next door neighbor had the same problem as I did as I had a choice of loud or no volume when using the designated 2nd remote control.

Other than that, the room had the usual tea & coffee facilities, bathroom toiletries and fluffy towels. There was an in-room safe which I did not use. I did not use the other hotel facilities so I am unable to comment.

The breakfast was quite pleasant with 2 young men serving and cleaning up. I requested for fried eggs and it was immediately delivered. There was a nice selection of fruits although the bacon was a bit dry from sitting too long in the bain marie.

The room had a “lovely” view of the water tanks. If I had stayed more than 1 night I would not be happy with the outlook.

Checking out was not a pleasant experience. As the reception lady was attending to one lady, I hovered behind the guest waiting for my turn. There was no one else, guests or staff, around. Being the polite person I waited patiently with my wallet and key card in hand. At one stage even the reception nodded to me and mouthed “sorry” for the time she was taking with the other guest.

However I was really annoyed when another guest walked up to the counter and the lone receptionist immediately called someone from the backroom to attend to this guest while I was still waiting for my turn. I waited until a staff was ready to attend to me and objected to the manner I was treated. The receptionist claimed that she thought I was looking at brochures or waiting for another guest. This is a bit of a stretch when she did see me there for a while. While I was speaking to the receptionist, the other staff member was standing around pretending not to see me, looking downcast.

I then asked the other staff member whether he was the manager and he said he was. It was a very disappointing for the manager not to step up immediately to intervene or apologise until I spoke to him. Although both did say it was a mistake and apologised, I felt that if I did not speak up, the matter would have been ignored.

Based on the checkout experience, I would not stay at the Olims and would advised friends accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OLIMS, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2009

Dear Frequent_FlyerSydney

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experiences while at the Olims Canberra. I was most dissapionted to read that you were not satisfied with the service you received. I will dicuss your comments with the Front Office Manager to ensure that all our guests feel well looked after. I note that you do mention that you will not return, I do hope that you may give the Olims team another try as what you experienced is certainly not indicitive of the service we try and provide for all our guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

OLIMS HOTEL, CANBERRA appears to be quite a reasonable three star hotel. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean and have the usual facilities. There is an attractive courtyard which many rooms, including the one I had, overlook. The bistro is no better or worse than many of this type and anyone expecting more should head off into the city centre. Continental breakfast is included and is probably the best choice as the cooked portion is prepared in advance rather than individually.

Unfortunately, most of my stay on Saturday afternoon (7th November) was marred by a wedding reception located in the courtyard. Although resting guests and wedding receptions aren’t always incompatible, they are when a commercial disco unit is employed at unrelentingly full-bore. I did try to persuade management to reduce the unmusical noise to more acceptable levels but the token effort still resulted in wall reverberation. The row continued past the appointed time of 5:00 p.m. but to give the management their due they did at least shut it down by 5:35 p.m. after I said I would require a change of room.

You may be lucky enough not to coincide your stay with a similar event in which case you should have a pleasant stay at reasonable value. Otherwise, it’s hell and I’m inclined to pay the extra and stay at Crowne Plaza where there’s no possibility of repeating the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoePublicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OLIMS, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2009

Dear JoePublicSydney

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your stay with us. From time to time we do host weddings in the courtyard. Generally they are happy occasions and cause minimal disruption to our house guests. Unfortunately this particular group did go outside what is acceptable noise levels. I have discussed this with the Conference department and my Duty Managers to ensure that this does not occur again. On behalf of the team at Olims thank you for letting us know your thoughts and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Olims Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip in October 2009. This is an older style property (established in 1940's or 1950's I guess) and you can see that it's dated from the building facade. I could also tell from the "thin walls" - a guest in the next room had a loud coughing fit at 6 am and it sounded like he was in my room. Fortunately I was already awake (up early working on a report) so it didn't bother me much.

Positives are that the rooms were very clean and well maintained with new furniture (although in an older style), massive flat screen TV and broadband internet ($25/day). The location was slightly out of the way but I had a hire car so that didn't bother me. Buffet breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OLIMS, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2009

Dear MelbourneBronco

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The Hotel was built in 1927 and was one of the first 5 hotels built for the influx of government employees as canberra become the nations capital. I was dissapointed to see that you would not reccomend the hotel as we do strive to deliver excellent service and an excellent product. I will pass on your feedback to the team and I hope that we would have the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Olims Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

From the moment we arrived for our five night stay we found the staff to be friendly, helpful and courtious. We used the Bar and Bistro area and found the experience enjoyable, the facilities clean and relaxing. We found the Hotel well situated for what we had in mind to do.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozzieMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OLIMS, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2009

Dear MozzieMoo

On behalf of the team at Olims, thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $105 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing