We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, old world building.”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb staff, old world building.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Extremely helpful staff. Went out of the way to help me when my trip to Canberra almost became a disaster as our taxi failed to turn up. Mr Scott was amazing. It's a five star for staff. Thank you again Mr Scott.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Usha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and provide such positive feedback. It is fantastic to hear you enjoy your experience at Mercure and we were able to assist when the taxi failed to turn up. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Kind regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    810
    344
    93
    39
See reviews for
267
787
172
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is one of Canberra's gems - heritage building with an interesting history, but recently renovated and comfortable and convenient. Parking was easy and free, staff were helpful, the room was quiet and lovely with a great view, and the restaurant was fabulous. Easy to walk in to Canberra centre. Definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place is a resort style establishment and is quite clean. My room was "upgraded" to an partment with a downstairs living area and an upstairs bedroom. Sounds nice but the view was really uninspiring, as opposed to many other rooms at the same hotel. I have never really understood why such rooms are considered as a good thing. One has to make frequent up-down trips for little things. Besides, the wardrobes are invariably upstairs so one has to lug the luggage upstairs. The work area is usually downstairs so if the laptop has been plugged downstairs and you remember an urgent mail in the middle of the night, better traipse down, mate!

The bathroom is overall ok but there was this inadequate shower barrier in the form of a 2 feet wide glass panel. Who gave this idea to the hotel that such a glass panel is good? It doesn't prevent water spillage at all and one has to deal with a wet bathroom floor later on- a classic victory of form over substance.

And then there was the internet- like a fool I plugged in their cable as I needed some fast internet. Most hotels I have been to charge ONE fee for both the cabled and wifi internet. i discovered too late that if I also needed to use the wifi, I needed to buy another subscription and it was 25 australian dollars a day! So I had to leave my laptop plugged in downstairs and make up-down trips everytime something urgent popped up from the office. Besides, I could not use iPad. Even then, things would have been bearable if the cabled internet was indeed a fast one. No such luck. The feeling of being ripped off is something I can really do without.

Then I decided to have dinner. The restaurant was full but at least there was plenty of place in the Bistro. i ordered a chicken schnitzel and for good measure asked them to add pepper sauce. I was astounded to find they could create a version of pepper sauce with no taste at all! There was no good taste, no bad taste, just no taste. How is it even possible? How can they be doing it? Do they subject the peppers to some magic radiation? Do they order the pepper sauce from England? Even adding salt and pepper from outside did not improve the taste at all and today I also have a sore throat though it may not have anything to do with the schnitzel.

The staff was courteous though and very helpful in matters like calling a taxi.

All in all this hotel left a bad aftertaste. I hope I never have to go here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask in advance of the room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your trip to Canberra and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that the meals in the restaurant were not to the hotel normal standards when you dined with us and for the issues with the internet service; please accept my apologises. I would like to discuss the issues in more detail with you, please message us via the tripadvisor. I look forward to hearing from you and hope we can welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broulee Nsw
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On arrival I was dismayed to find my reservation had been cancelled. I have recorded details in a separate email sent to Accor's complaints dept. I am waiting for a reply. However, staff at Mecure were helpful and were able to give me and my disabled husband another room.





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and choosing to stay with us. I am sorry that your booking had been cancelled; please let me know if I can assist in any way with the follow up. I am delighted that we were able to organise a room for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Kind Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel itself was a beautiful building. Friendly staff. Lovely places to sit in the courtyard with a water fountain and plenty of trees. We stayed in room 307. Its close to the parking at the back which was very handy bringing in your luggage. Towels were thick, beds were comfy. Even though we were on the ground floor we had a little balcony with 2 chairs and a small table, overlooking the car park but because there were plenty of shrubs we could not see the car park itself and instead it was lovely and cool. Magpies would sometimes visit too. Only 15 minute walk to the War memorial and Canberra Central Shopping Centre. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This room had a shower for the handicapped or wheelchair users. No glass panels or curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and choosing to stay with us. I am delighted that you had time to appreciate our beautiful gardens and relax in them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing