We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Canberra”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    808
    343
    93
    39
See reviews for
266
786
172
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodville, Nsw
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't know if my disappointment was with the motel or the Accor Group. We booked on a Le Accor Club 50% discount promotion a couple of months before staying. We booked a loft room and requested a room with a balcony, based on suggestions from previous reviewers on Tripadvisor. What we got was a room without balcony overlooking a tin garden shed sat on an unmowed lawn and overlooking busy Ainslie Ave, complete with traffic noise. Rooms either side had fenced in courtyards, and I know from walking through the place, there were garden view rooms, with balcony's, vacant. So, does 50% discount equate to "worst room available"?
On the positive side, the location is excellent. Close enough to everything and far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Would recommend The Banana Leaf Sri Lankan restaurant just outside the shopping mall ($100 for 2 mains, a good bottle of wine and a beer) and the London Beer and Burgers ($35 for 2 burgers, a glass of bubble and a schooner of beer. Could not finish the burger, it was that big).

Room Tip: Request a garden view room with balcony, and if you don't get one, question why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that we were unable to provide you a loft room with a balcony during your stay; please accept my apologises. We do try to meet all requests made to us; unfortunately we could not meet you request during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Whilst our rooms were clean and comfortable the rest of the complex needs quite a lot of cosmetic maintenance as it is looking very tired. You can hear people walking down the hallways. Ask for a garden view room as you will be on the inside of the building further from traffic noise. If you pay for breakfast the night before it is quite a bit cheaper. Location is within walking distance to war memorial and the main shopping centre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 297janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. I am glad to hear you appreciate our beautiful gardens and the breakfast deal we offer at reception, along with the comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Kind Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from 4 evenings at the Mercure, whilst attending a conference at ANU. We chose the hotel because my wife wanted some place that had a bit more "personality" than some of the newer hotels that I'd been looking at. The staff were warm and welcoming, the breakfast (included in our deal) was quite good and the hotel itself was well maintained and we liked our room which had an unusual set-up, for a hotel room: a lounge and kitchenette downstairs and a bedroom/bathroom loft upstairs. The bathroom looked a lot newer than the rest of the room, and the whole set-up was very conducive to a relaxed stay with the extra room downstairs. However, I would note that the bed area was a little tight, and the bathroom was very close to the bed, so there wasn't a great deal of privacy. Housekeeping did an excellent job each day and we enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and proximity to the city (Civic) centre - about 10 minutes down the road. The Mercure certainly met all our needs at what we felt was a fair price (free outdoor parking was also included) and we'd happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and choosing to stay with us, for your business trip. It is fantastic to hear you enjoy a relaxing stay at Mercure for your 4 nights and to know the staff were warm and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming back. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing