We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    814
    349
    96
    42
See reviews for
274
792
172
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

although of historical interest, this hotel was not up to advertised 4 star standard. No lift, and very small bathrooms. There was a mix up with our booking. The grouting in the shower needed a scrub.
The bed was great and it is in an ideal situation to easily access Canberrra attractions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jrt274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your trip to Canberra and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that standard room was not ideal for your stay at the hotel. Due to the Heritage listing for, that part of the hotel, we are unable to put a lift in place. We do have superior rooms, which are serviced by a lift, available. On your next visit please let us know and we can show them to you. I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Built in 1927 as a symbol of the prosperous and decadent times, the Mercure has lost nothing of its old world charm. Well appointed rooms that are warm, clean and spacious. There's plenty of parking, a bar and restaurant on site which is only a couple of minutes from the War Memorial.

Quietly located 10 minutes from town this hotel has the best of everything. Only drawback is there is no lift to the first floor.

I loved my stay at the Mercure and will certainly return in the future for a longer stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and choosing to stay with us, for your business trip. It is fantastic to hear you enjoy your experience at Mercure and that we cater to all your needs and requirements. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great value in a location that is close to our Capitals must see sites. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Most comfortable modern spacious rooms, in a classic 1930s decor hotel. Definitely will stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's old world charm being a heritage listed building. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Nation's capitol Kind Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 57 in Canberra
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing