We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at the Mercure”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stay was reasonable and cost slightly high. Ate at the bistro and food was less than average and wait for drinks was unreasonable and gave up in the end. Room was good but at night the rooms located above ours were very noisy with every step walked above us sounding like they were about to fall through the ceiling onto us. Staff were very good and attentive. May consider staying again after looking at other alternatives first?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This may have been the first time I have stayed here and it won't be the last.Rooms and accommodation were excellent while the restaurant was a delight .My only criticism is that the wine list was devoid of local wine which is excellent.Why?Clonakilla,Larks Hill and many more.I look forward to my return and the opportunity of drinking some local quality wine next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GARRICKDOSTINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed the charm of this hotel. Great accommodation - very comfortable beds - and excellent service. Being accompanied by a number of children we initially chose to dine at the Restaurant, but the children did not like the menu so we went to the bistro - even though the waitress had set up 2 tables for us in the restaurant when we decided to move to the bistro she displayed an excellent understanding attitude & customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank eccles176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have now stayed twice on business and find the hotel very comfortable and pleasant to stay at. The meals are reasonable either in the main restaurant or the bistro and the bar staff are friendly. I like the loft room because of the space and find the beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank micnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay experiencing the lifestyle of our past Statemens - the ambiance was great the hotel is refurbished in the style of past establishment. Our room was very pleasant looking over the central Courtyard - we could have done with a map to show how to navigate to various parts of the building. Very tastey meal in the bistro and reasonably priced. Unless you are a party animal don't go on a Friday or Saturday night as the pavers in the very large central courtyard had signs of much activity.. They were being cleaned when we left on Monday morning. Management buy the gentleman who was on his hands and knees picking up the cigarette buts from the lawn a vacumm cleaner - a much more dignified way to work.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipsBairnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Room extremely clean and well fitted out with doors opening to a balcony for fresh air - something often hard to find in modern hotels. Good attention to detail in the "extras" in the room and also with the service generally.
Room staff and wait staff friendly and efficient.
Great position in Canberra - quiet surroundings but also central.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Amelie487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Not happy that sheets on bed had not been changed after previous guest. Quickly replaced by a staff member. Fridge was not switched on. Pillows like bags of cement! Bathroom was great- recently refurbished. Good quality large soft towels. Despite the few problems, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank DGChele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#27 of 58 in Canberra
3,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $86 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing