We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This property represented good value, with extremely courteous and helpful staff. A quiet location close to Canberra CBD - easy walk to shopping and a selection of good restaurants around Civic. A very comfortable short stay in this historic property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank leura2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    810
    344
    93
    39
See reviews for
267
787
172
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great snuggly sleep under a lovely soft thick light doona. I want one!! Everything bout the room was excellent. We stayed in a loft room. All fittings were spotless and modern. It was very quiet despite the busy day of Anzac day with lots of guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
168 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I usually stay in the hotels on Northbourne when I visit Canberra for business, but I thought I'd give Mercure (formerly Olims) a try to check out the property after it's recent refurbishment.
I was pleasantly impressed. It's an historic oasis in the middle of suburbia. The building is quaint and is built around a courtyard of immaculate gardens. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished, modern while maintaining the old world feel of the property.
I stayed in a very large room that had a terrace overlooking the gardens. Room service dinner meal was great. There is an a-la-carte restaurant as well as bistro/bar style venue onsite.
Staff were friendly and there seemed to be a mix of regular business travelers and leisure guests.
Plenty of off street parking provided at no cost.
Great hotel, I will be staying there again on my trips to Canberra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels,in ambience ,service & quality easily up there with the best i,ve stayed at anywhere. i will definately be coming back !!!!!!!!! .The fact that you are staying in a city you would not know it because you do not hear any noise at all even though you are on 2 busy roads such as Limestone ave & Ainslie ave. The proximaty of the hotel to the main touirist spots sells it,s appeal straight away. The choice of two dining areasis also a plus,
Thank You

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cootalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I often travel to Canberra and have never stayed at the Mecure (olims) and now I wonder why not - I have been missing out. This building was built at the same time as the Hyatt and the old Parliament House and is an historic experience in itself. the room I stayed in was large with a balcony overlooking the courtyard - lovely! The only difficult one might would have in this room is navigating the stairs to the bedroom but I found it no issue. The whole hotel is liking stepping back in time but the not losing any of the modern feature we like - flat screen TV etc. The food in the bistro was great - home style and very good value. The staff were lovely and the car parking was free - better than the hotels in the cbd. It is a little bit out of the main cbd but nothing that should bother the traveler who is in a car - I will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although comfortable room, with newish amenities, shower positioned over bath with very small glass petition to prevent water spraying into bathroom itself. Hot water was not good at all. Dining room dated. Choices for dinner not very extensive at all. Breakfast choices okay, but replenishment of food did not happen often and quick enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank berryplm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here once before and liked it, being in a big room at the back with a balcony. This time I was in a "heritage" room in the old building and it was greatly inferior. Small and pokey (great shower head though) with thin walls and a window overlooking a fire escape. The old building's a bit of a rabbit warren and I don't think you could to my room without using at least 2 flights of stairs. Still a decent hotel but your experience may vary depending on your room.

Room Tip: Avoid the heritage rooms at the front. Rear rooms with balconies overlooking the car park are big a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing