We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Traveling with a friend from NZ we stayed 2 nights to take in the sights of Canberra. I have stayed at this hotel before so was happy to do so again.

The room was as expected and we had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night. There was plenty of staff on in the restaurant and it was not busy, I had to get our menu's, I had to ask for the wine list, our bread was warm on the outside and frozen in the middle and after an hour of waiting for dinner (we had a lot of catching up to do) I asked where our meals were and was told it would be another 5 minutes. The time I am sure it took to cook the steaks.

Needless to say I will not be staying there again as I like the convenience of a good meal at the accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mrshmc8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here while on a short weekend trip to Canberra. Rooms were small but had everything we needed - the TV was bigger then the bed! Great location, 15-20 minute walk to Bunda Street where all the shops / restaurants are. We didn't get to sample breakfast however we had friends who said the breakfast had a lot of variety. The hotel has a pub connected to it - this is a great little hang out - cheap lunch / dinners from the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa11yMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable the staff friendly
I have stayed before prior to the last upgrade of the facility it is even better.
This would be my preffered Hotel to stay in Canberra.
Great court yards great spot to relax

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SteveDubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I lived in Canberra, Olims (as it was then) was a favourite place for a quiet drink in yesteryear surroundings, so when we had reason to go to Canberra for a reunion, the Mercure as it is called now, was a perfect place to reminisce.
We booked the hotel about 6 months in advance and received an excellent rate. Check in was faultless and our room with balcony and in the new-ish wing was tastefully decorated and sported genuine oak furniture, huge flat panel TV and a modern bathroom.
Staff were always pleasant and helpful and we also discovered a new (to us) restaurant and bar with reasonable priced drinks and a la carte meals. There is also an up market restaurant in the centre of the hotel but didn't eat there as our reunion provided our meal.
Altogether a nice stay, close-ish to the city centre (about 1.5kM walk) and the closest hotel to the Australian War Memorial and museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony in the modern wings; the rooms in the original hotel are smaller and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice hotel, 10 minute walk to the centre of town and has a big car park. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Rooms were nice but no bath, only shower (we stayed in a Deluxe room). My only comment would be.... no bananas at breakfast, otherwise breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank apbbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
21
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staff very fantastic. Special praise for Michelle on receiption, very warm and friendly also the waitress on duty in the dinning room Saturday 6th April, she was on her own and coped amaziningly on a very busy night. Compliments to Chef food was great.

Additional comment: Why does it take so long to have the $50.00 mastercard bond reversed??

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A wonderful combination of old world charm and modern facilities. It was ideal for a couple travelling with an elderly parent. the only drawback with the loft was the lack of downstairs toilet. Friendly and attentive staff, at all levels. Even when the toaster set off the fire alarm there was no fuss, just calm efficient action. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose the superior king loft to accommodate three people. It provided excellent space and facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#29 of 59 in Canberra
3,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#18 of 59 in Canberra
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,209 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing