We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Heritage Hotel with Character”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Heritage Hotel with Character”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on work related business last week and have to say it was great. It is located about 10 min walk from the Civic area so easily walkable. Rooms are either character heritage rooms or modern new hotel rooms. They are roomy and have nice linens Ns furnishings. A large flat screen tv adorns the wall and there are comfortable chairs to air in. There is a great desk in the room which I found so handy for using the laptop. Broadband Internet is available. The rooms are quiet and have ironing facilities and extra pillows and blankets. Overall great rooms. The on site bistro is more of a pub style so perhaps not so up market but meals are tasty and well priced. Breakfast is buffet and while not elaborate it does do the job. A good hotel for work or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargain_Benno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Bargain_Benno, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and provide such positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate our sevices offered. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra in the future. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    813
    347
    95
    42
See reviews for
272
790
172
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Canberra in the last week of February 2013. Visitors from the UK wanted to visit Canberra and tour the Gallaries, War Memorial, Parliament House and the like.
My wife and I had stayed at the Mecure Canberra last year and we very happy with the stay.
As rated above I have no hestitation in recomending the hotel, the service and the rooms. The Tariff was great value as it included Art Gallery Tickets.
The food in the bistro was excellent and the staff was most accomodating for our group of six. The Mercure is in a great location to visit all the vsites of Canberra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob2013976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Bob2013976, Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure on your return visit to Canberra and taking the time to review our Hotel. It is really nice to hear you enjoyed stay and found the Toulouse Lautrec package good value for money. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights in February 2013. Was upgraded to a king room overlooking the rear carpark. The room was large and well appointed. Had been refurbished in recent times. Bathroom had no bath which was OK for me but some ladies may find this a problem. Food in the hotel bistro was average but not a problem for a short stay. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgee251046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
kgee251046, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to the Nation's Capital. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel appeared to be tired, run down and behind the times in luxury and comfort. The corridors were very long in getting to the room, the room itself was dark and depressing.
The breakfast was something else.... very poor variety and quite unappealing.
The staff were polite and helpful. Location was OK too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnymouse_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

On numerous occasions, I have tried to book this hotel when visiting our daughter who studies in canberra with no success (always booked out) until this year. We stayed in the three bedroom apartment as we wanted some space to relax, kitchenette for breakfasts and lunches and room for our daughter to join us.
We were not disappointed. Great check in with helpful accommodating reception staff.
Easy walk into Civic to some amazing restaurants for dinner.
We have booked to stay again at the end of the year. My only, and very small complaint, is that I did not like the memory foam pillows. I will take my own pillow next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Julie D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel and provide us with such lovely feedback. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your Mercure experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and myself travelled to see the exhibition at the National Gallery. We have stayed at the Mercure previously for the same purpose. We like the loft suite. We were especially pleased with our balcony. The gardens are quaint and well manicured. The 'old world" charm is also a draw card, something which I would not recommend to familes, who would be better at the Novotel closer to the city.The rooms are clean. We were disappointed with the lack of the restaurant in the evening. We liked the addition of the aquariums to both wings of the building. The hotel bistro has a good menu, though it is a bit noisy, and not enough seats for the weekend crowd.The staff are very professional and thorough in their service.We enjoyed our time at The Mercure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargSydney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
MargSydney60, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. I am glad to hear you had time to appreciate our beautiful gardens and found our loft suite with a balcony, comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing