We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Canberra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    789
    333
    89
    38
See reviews for
261
769
165
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mecure on a special deal which included an upgraded room, full buffet breakfast and a bottle of wine. The loft room overlooked the very pretty central courtyard garden and had a balcony with comfortable chairs and table. The room was split into a living/dining room downstairs and upstairs a bedroom with good size bathroom. The furnishings and amenities were excellent.There was even a small kitchenette with microwave, crockery, cutlery, toaster etc. The Bistro in the bar didn't appeal to us for dinner so we ventured into the city where we easily found a good Malay/Chinese restaurant at a very reasonable price. The breakfast was perfect for us with plenty of fresh fruit and a reasonable selection of hot dishes.
All in all, a much better stay than we had expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calexandraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
calexandraI, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your experience at Mercure Canberra and that all services you tried met or exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra on your next trip to the Nation's Capital. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

While the hotel may have a long history, the rooms are modern, comfortable and at a price line that won’t break the bank. After looking at a map of Canberra, I thought it might be a little out of the way, but found it wasn’t an issue. The hotel is only a short walk down Ainslie Ave to the mall and restaurants, and as a bonus, another short walk down Limestone Ave to the Australian War Memorial. Parking was free with lots of spaces.

We stayed for about a week and had a chance to eat a few times in the pub. The food was good – their Olims Burger is outstanding – and the bar had a good choice of beers on tap. They also have a buffet style breakfast in the main restaurant, but I didn’t try it. Some other people in my group did and didn’t have any complaints.

The only problem I had was an iron in the room with a soleplate that looked like someone had tried to grill a cheese toasty on it. A call to the front desk had it quickly resolved – no fault of the hotel how people iron their clothes. Finally, although I didn’t see it mentioned on their website, the hotel does have a laundry room with two coin operated washers and dryers which were in good condition.

Overall a great experience and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hootbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hootbag, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we very much appreciate your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and found our Bistro food appetising. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra. Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our "Scoopon" three day holiday was great value and included excellent breakfasts. The choice at the breakfast buffet was extensive, and the staff at the restaurant were helpful and readily available. So when the delicious berry mixture (which goes wonderfully with yogurt) was too cold, they warmed it up so that it was just right. We did not eat other meals in the hotel. The restaurant was closed and we did not fancy the bar menu.

The room was very clean and if there was anything missing, the friendly reception staff ensured that this was remedied. The bathroom looked recently modernised and the furnishings were high quality. We had a medical emergency on one of the nights, and again the reception staff was very helpful. It was very hot, but the air conditioning was up to it.

When we commented that the wi-fi was expensive, we were directed to the business centre a few metres from reception where you could use the internet without charge.

The gardens were beautifully kept and a joy to walk through. A lovely stay in a charming hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, and although it backed onto the car park we found it very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studentoflife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
studentoflife4, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and providing us with such lovely feedback. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Canberra, finding it value for money along with our helpful staff, delivering excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our charming Hotel.
Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 57 in Canberra
3,177 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#18 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing