We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Ashfield, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here about 12 months ago when just taken over from previous owner. Refurbishment appears to be mostly complete with a couple of painters still around.
On both visits, booked through Accor website, details were lost or not or incomplete.
Once in the rooms have modern facilities with the period flavour of its origins.
Initially I was offered a room close to reception [101] which was small and the window overlooked by an external fire escape and an internal connecting walkway.
The requested change was fuss free and rooms anywhere along either side or rear would be recommended.
Breakfast was good although room service food quality [ steak ] was average. Eat in the bistro next time.
Room "make up" was good and check out efficient and professional.
Well located for car access to Canberra's sights but still possible to walk [ approx 20min ] to city centre if preferred.
Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you mention we have undergone a full refurbishment and the project has now been completed. We apologize for the issue with your reservation and room service and will be addressing with the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are visiting the Nations Capital.

Regards
Scott Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    709
    302
    77
    32
See reviews for
232
680
152
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a huge room in the old part of the hotel, the down side is there is no lift to this part of the hotel so if you need help with luggage you need to ask.
This is walking distance to the National War Memorial and a short bus ride over to the the parliment area. There is also the main shopping area within a 10-15 minute walk.
The bar on site is multi-purpose - a bottle shop and bookies as well as a bar and bistro.
Very comfortable room and overall a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
jec01, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious rooms and found our location convenient and easily accessible to all the main attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra on your next trip to the Nation's Capital.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked the bistro for a work lunch / meeting
Good range of meals with all serves being generous.
Those that ordered steaks found them to be tender and cooked as ordered, pretty rare these days (excuse the pun).
Out of a group of 20 people, not one complained about the food or service.
Drinks were at pub prices and the prices of meals between $15 and $25.
All in all, good value for money, good quick service and not rushed by staff to get out of the restaurant after the meal.
Yes we will use this restaurant again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooligahl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dooligahl M, Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback. Great to hear you and your group enjoyed your dining experience in our Bistro and our staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra for another work lunch.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Centrally located with plenty of free parking available although the car park is located quite a distance from reception - a pain when you first arrive unless you know to go to the front of the hotel first to check-in. Booked into a loft suite for x2 nights inclusive of breakfast - this was reasonably priced. The hotel is a rabbit warren of rooms but retains some of the charm of the earlier Olims. Internet charges are not cheap. Staff were not particularly efficient and the meal served in the bistro was average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
skillr01, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your feedback. We are very conveniently located and good to hear you found your stay well priced and good value for money. I am disappointed to hear that your Bistro dining experience was average and did not meet your expectaions. We hope that if you are in Canberra again you give us another opportunity.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went to Canberra for the long weekend. Specified on check in that we wanted a quiet room but were disappointed. Could hear traffic going past and people talking outside. The curtains didn't shut properly and let a lot of light in. Shower leaked onto bathroom floor. Stained bathroom curtain hid spider webs on the glass of the window. Comfy bed and pillows though. Breakfast and room service was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Luba M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Canberra and taking the time to review our Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. For future stays with our Hotels please address any noise or cleanliness issues to the Manager on Duty to ensure these problems are either rectified immediately or possibly move you to another room. The comfort and satisfaction of guests is very important to us. I am happy you were able to sample and enjoy our food. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Canberra.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for one night using a Scoopon voucher that included breakfast & a bottle of wine, this made the stay great value for money.
The check in staff were very friendly & efficient , they fixed a problem we had with safe in our room immediately .
The spotless room was large with a really comfortable k/s bed .The bathroom is newly renovated.
Our balcony unfortunately overlooked the carpark and was rather dirty , other rooms faced onto the internal gardens which were nice.
Breakfast was included in our deal. I would have been less impressed if I had to pay $22 for it. It was busy in the breakfast room on the Sunday morning & there were very few staff who were overworked and could not keep up with demand for food, cuttlery or the cleaning of tables.
The Ainslie bar is OK for a drink, if you can find a wine on the menu you like. Unfortunately most of the wine choices by the glass were unavaliable.
Location is very good , an easy walk to the Canberra Center & surrounding restaurants.
Overall a very nice, central hotel. I would stay here again & request a room overlooking the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden , rather than the car park. The k/s rooms were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancing_queenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dancing Queen Sydney,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and it is great to hear you ejoyed your Mercure Canberra experience. We will certainly pass on your positive comments about our team. We will also address the issue of the dirty balcony with our housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't happen again. We are in transition with a new wine list and sorry that some of the wines werent available. Sorry for the areas we missed on your stay and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Canberra.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 2,952 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing