We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away when it is hot in Canberra”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a good location towards the CBD, rooms clean and spacious. For the 2 days that we stayed here it was 39 degrees although the airconditioners had no effect on the 2 top rooms leaving us sleeping in discomfort. Even a simple ceiling fan would have made a difference. In winter it will probably ok but stay away in summer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jrpc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

jrpc007,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you found your room hot. We try and resolve any room issues as soon as we are made aware of them. It is good to hear you found our location convenient and our rooms clean and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra on your next trip to Canberra.

Regards
Scott Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

A great 1927 hotel that has been renevated to modern standards. The location was 10 minutes from the War Memorial and Canberra shops. The meals that we had were excellent, especially the duck, breakfast was just as good with lots of choices. Only thing missing was a pool, it was 38 degrees and that would have been nice to cool down. Staff were very helpfull with lots of tips of where to go and what to see. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide positive feedback on our hotel. It was so nice to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and found the Hotel to be conveniently located and the staff helpful. A swimming pool would certainly be lovely and should be considered for any future development plans. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra.

Regards, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40nikita
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice hotel in an old building, with a decent location within walking distance (10-15 minutes) from the city center. While the common areas could use some upgrading, the rooms are very nice and spacious. We did get a room on the ground floor next to the laundry or something where you could be disturbed by a constant noise of some vents/machines.
Our TV stopped working on the second day and we were offered the option of moving to another room as it could not be fixed (they had an entire day for it).
On check out, they charged my card for an extra night, although my booking was paid in advance (there were two separate bookings indeed, one for each night, but clearly told them about this both at check-in and check-out). I had to call twice with details of the payments to get a reimbursement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Delwind, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to give us your valuable feedback. We are glad you found the Hotel to be conveniently located and our rooms to be spacious. I am sorry for the noise disturbances and TV issue you experienced. This has been passed on to the Maintenance team. I also apologize for the payment error that occured and any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Canberra in the near future.

Regards, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank D1P1_SydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked on line through the Mercure (Olins) Canberra web site and specified a "Superior" room with breakfast, at what appeared to be a competitive rate. However when we arrived at reception we were assigned a lower grade "Standard Queen" room. When I questioned the Receptionist she then found that all Superior rooms were booked and upgraded us to a "Loft" room. This turned out be not quite the bonus that we led to believe.
The first two days of our stay were very hot and as the bedroom was in the upper part of the Loft and close to the roof it became quite hot. Consequently, we had to have the air-conditioner running all night, and as it was positioned close to the bed, even in "Quiet" mode, it was still noisy and made sleeping difficult.
The wooden wardrobe smelt of fish oil and the smell contaminated our clothes. The spiral staircase up to the "loft" part of the room was narrow and difficult to negotiate, especially carrying bags. The bathroom, although small was adequate and clean, however the shower was in a bath with high sides, which made it difficult step into, particularly for someone of advancing years.
Although the in-room hotel information showed that the Terrace Restaurant was open from Tuesday - Sunday, on trying to book dinner, we told that it was closed "until further notice".
The hotel is quite evidently old, built in 1927, and even though it has been renovated several times, it is showing signs of wear and neglect. The passageways to the rooms are convoluted and disjointed, and difficult to negotiate, especially carrying bags. The general stairways between floors were dirty and hadn't been cleaned for some time, and large clumps of weeds were evident in the landscaped areas.
Every time we used a credit card of any sort, even in the Bistro, we were charged a 1.5% fee which increased the overall cost of our stay. Because of their size, I'm sure the Accor chain could negotiate a better rate with their banker and not charge their customers, just because they can.
This the second time that we have stayed in a Mercure hotel and both experiences, (in two different cities), have been poor to average.

Room Tip: On very hot days do not ask for a Loft room, especially one facing North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Ron D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is certainly disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Our loft rooms are quite large however as you mention it is a split level and not ideal for people that are not mobile, our team should have asked you the question if you were comfortable with this. Our wardrobes are only 12 months old and not sure what the fish oil was, we will have our housekeeping team check the loft room wardrobes. We are happy to assist with bags or directions to rooms. If you have any issues in hotels the best thing to do is bring it to the Manager on duty's attention as straight away so we can resolve. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your Mercure Canberra experience if there is anything I can assist with on your next Mercure stay (if you choose to give us another chance) please don't hesitate to contact me on scott.grant@mercurecanberra.com.au and I can assist.

Regards
Scott Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights and enjoyed the experience. We were upgraded (as returning guests and Accor members) and had received an excellent "red hot" memebrs' rate discount. The suite, with downstairs lounge/kitchen and upstirs loft bedroom & bathroom, was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had obviously been modernised recently and was well designed. Breakfast was acceptable rather than exceptional; staff were friendly but not always the most efficient (trainee on check-out had difficulty multi-tasking).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySemillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

MySemillon, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear you were pleased with your return visit to Mercure Canberra and also enjoyed your upgrade to one of the lovely refurbished Loft rooms. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#29 of 59 in Canberra
3,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#18 of 59 in Canberra
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $86 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing