We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Old world charm”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was large, well appointed & garden view very nice. The staff were very friendly and attended to our requests quickly. Pillows were rather full & firm but staff got us some more comfy ones. Enjoyed the bar & restaurant facilities. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
mpjones72,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our staff service. The Ainslie bar is certainly very convenient and a pleasant place for lunch or dnnner and a couple of cool drinks. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Canberra.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    800
    338
    91
    39
See reviews for
264
781
167
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirrawee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading other reviews I was a bit worried we arrived to check in to a lady with a smile found our room which was beautiful big tv air con which is needed in canberra in summer room was modern large comfy bed nice bathroom and a small balcony which was nice to have a cupped , we ate at the bistro 2out of 3 nights and all 4 of us loved the food the staff were friendly I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteandkayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Peteandkayla,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Canberra for your recent get away. Great to hear that our team looked after you well and you enjoyed all our facilities. See you again when you are next in Canberra.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbarumba
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Mercure is an old hotel, built about 1927 but is well maintained and has a charming and unique character. It is within easy walking distance from the city centre, shops, restaurants and cinemas. We stayed at a quiet time over Xmas. The service was excellent. We were upgraded from a standard to a loft room which was superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
sstyche,

Thank you for staying at our hotel recently and taking the time to give your feedback. Our hotel and has plenty of unique character, with being built in 1927 if only the walls could talk (maybe good they don't). The hotel is certainly conveniently located, great to hear that you found our team members deliver excellent service, we will pass this on to them which will assist in driving them to continue this level of service. We hope to see you again one day at Mercure Canberra.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Mercure Canberra. The location is excellent, safe, quiet at night and the rate very affordable. We love the history of the hotel and the upgrade to contemporary settings in the rooms is very complimentary to this history. I have never requested an upgrade before so thank you to the front office staff who were happy to provide one on this occasion. Our only gripes - ones that we experience in just about any hotel we stay in - room doors that 'slam' shut (can someone please invent a kind of cushion to absorb the impact) and inconsiderate guests who talk loudly in the hallways late a night/early in the morning.
We were delighted to find out from another guest that the Mercure is a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ditto2,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, good to hear you are a repeat guest and enjoy our hotel facilities. Sorry that you found some doors to 'slam' we will have our maintenance team check all our door closers as this shouldn't happen. We have 2 pet rooms that enable you to holiday with your pet which are very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back (maybe even with fido) next time.

Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay. Old world charm with a lovely modern edge to it. Great service, very pleasant and helpful. We definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Canberra for your holidays, or even if just driving through.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Carolyn1955,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your Mercure Canberra experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'm biased because I got a super special - 2 nights for $150, and for that price, it's great. I think the full price is low-to-medium for Canberra and, given the low standards in Canberra, it's worth considering this place. Staff were fine and the room was fairly good - reasonably sized with a good (although not very big) bathroom and a balcony overlooking the car park (the room was right at the back - a long way from reception but convenient to the car park). It's a rambling building surrounding a nice but dated courtyard. It might be a hassle for less mobile people - there are lifts and ramps to every area but they might involve a long detour.

The location is a little remote - there's nothing at all around it (apart from roads, houses and parks) but the edge of the mall is only 15 minutes walk. The hotel seems to cash in on the lack of alternatives by charging very high food prices (I didn't try any). Every other add-on is expensive, although they have self-service laundry. TV only gets free-to-air channels. Nothing else to complain about, so I'd stay here again, even at normal price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are fairly large, quiet and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
mrdom,

Thank you for staying at Mercure Canberra and reviewing our hotel. It is good to hear that you found our hotel value for money and enjoyed your time here. With 129 rooms only over 2 floors the hotel does cover a reasonable section of land. Our bistro classic menu items don't exceed $25 and we believe are good value for money, we also have a daily specials board. We would like to see you when you are next in Canberra and hopefully we can turn your good comments in to great.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing